Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

No Temptation

1 Corinthians 10:13a

No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgWhat temptations do you fight every day? Do you have an addiction? Do you have some bad habits? Are there certain foods – or any food – that temps you to eat more than you should? Are there people that seem to draw you away from the path you know you should be walking?

I wish ice cream wasn’t so good – tasting. I wish pizza didn’t smell so good and taste good too. I wish certain people would simply leave me alone. I wish – at times – that God hadn’t given me/us free will to make these choices that seem so bad for us. I mean – I understand the theological implications of free will but on the other hand I wish – at times – that God would simply make the choices for me and make me stick to them!

Let’s read the whole verse today. 1 Corinthians 10:13 – No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

When I read this – I am thankful that God will not allow me to be tempted beyond my ability – in Christ – to withstand – but – on the same note – I am saddened that I can’t claim humanness or that Satan made me do it or some other excuse. I only sin because I yield to the temptation – I don’t have to do so – God will give me away out – but I yield because I choose to do so!

Thinking about this passage – I can remember times of sin and I can actually remember the way out that I chose to ignore. Man – that is painful! God gave me an out and I loved – desired – wanted – to sin – more than follow the path God showed me!  I’m usually convicted and spend time before God asking Him to forgive me and cleanse me.  I hate to say it – but – at times – this is a repeated action.  I pray for the season of victory over temptations that haunt me.

What about you today – dear reader? Do you struggle with temptations in your life? If so – remember – God has promised to provide us a way out of the temptation – a way around the sin that follows that temptation if we don’t take God’s path. Our task – as we strive to live more and more like Jesus – sinless Jesus – is to take that path more and more and sin less and less. He is our model and we are to follow His example.

The Good News is that – even when we fail – even when we sin – if our heart is set on Jesus – His grace covers our failures.  I look forward to the day that God’s grace is not overworked in my life.  How about you?  A time when no temptation will have hold of us – but we will be walking with the Lord in such a way that we go and sin no more.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

July 22, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

