Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Boldness and Confidence

Hebrews 4:16

Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgI remember a former bishop of the Baltimore-Washington Conference of the United Methodist Church calling the church to have a holy boldness. We should do church with a holy boldness about us – with a true desire to reach the lost and to equip the saints.

What are you bold about? I’m pretty bold about my favorite teams – sharing with all who will listen and even some who won’t. The Orioles for example are 60-46 – the 3rd best record in MLB I believe and up by 2.5 games in their division as the end of July approaches today. They’re looking for a sweep of the Angels tonight.

What are you bold about? Some on Facebook or Twitter or Google+ are pretty bold about their relationships and what is happening in their lives. Sometimes I’m pretty surprised by what I read – what people are willing to make public. Is there no filter these days? Do some people think before they type?

What are you bold about? One thing I would never imagine to be bold about is approaching the throne of God. With my list of sins (I know – my list is so much longer than most) – I would imagine needing to keep a low profile when I arrive in heaven – knowing that I only got there by the grace of God (isn’t that how any of us will get there?).

Today’s passage tells me though – that I can approach the throne of God will confidence – with boldness – because of the mercy and grace of God. This is just amazing to me – amazing grace if I might borrow a phrase from a famous hymn.

The author of Hebrews writes about this boldness – as translated from the NIV & KJV – as follows. Hebrews 4:16 – Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need. NIV Hebrews 4:16 – Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need. KJV

We can actually approach the throne of God boldly and with confidence – all because we have yielded our lives to Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior. It is through His mercy and grace that we can come before the Father at all! I stand amazed because of Jesus! Through Him – a sinner like me can approach the Father boldly and with confidence. Thank you Jesus!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way!

July 31, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

