Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

I Wish…

Psalm 59:16

But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgI was browsing Facebook the other day and ran across a young lad that busted out in song as his dad tried out a guitar in a music store. I imagine it was partly planned – but none-the-less – it was a public setting and the young lad sang without fear of folks around him. I wish some of us had that kind of courage to let loose and sing at church.

Have you ever attended a ballgame and the home team made a big play and no one stood to cheer or shout? Of course not – we love our sports teams and we go to cheer them on. Even some of the most introverted friends I have let loose at a game. I wish some of us would let loose a little more in church – maybe saying amen or a praise the Lord once-in-a-while.

Speaking of Facebook – I’ve notice a number of people that are more expressive behind the safety of their computers than they are in person. Some will like items or post items that they probably wouldn’t talk about in person. I wish we would post more about our faith – using social media as a witnessing tool – especially if we have a hard time doing so in person.

Today’s passage speaks about giving God the glory. Psalm 59:16 – But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble. I wish more folks would do morning devotions and would actually sing hymns and songs. I know on the way to work I usually sing – loudly in my car – as I travel from my home to church or wherever I am headed.

I wish more of us would not be bashful about our praise and worship – and that we would openly give God glory. Have you tried praying – out-loud – for your family meal at a restaurant (not loud enough to disturb others but loud enough for your table to hear? Include your waitress/waiter in the prayer even!  We should not be ashamed of God – and we should not be made to feel bad for believing in God either!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way!

August 7, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

