Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Start Your Day with Prayer

Psalms 19:14

May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgFrom my childhood until today I remember praying.  I learned the Lord’s Prayer as a wee lad.  I learned prayers to say at the table before a meal at my father’s knee.  I learned to pray at my bedside – by watching my dad.  I learned to pray in church and in Sunday School (of course the preacher’s son was called on in front of the whole class to pray because the preacher’s son should be able to pray I was told).  I learned to pray with fancy words – and I learned to pray as if I was speaking to a friend – and everything in between.  I learned to pray verbally and to pray silently in my heart.  I learned that prayer was speaking to God.  I learned that my words were not as important as my attitude when I came before God in prayer.

As a pastor I have lifted many prayers.  I have prayed at the birth of children – I have prayed at the death of children.  I have prayed over still born children – I have prayed for preemies that would fit in the palm of my hand.  I have prayed for the sick – I have prayed for the well – I have prayed for the dying.  I have prayed at baptisms and dedications – I have prayed over communion and over couples at weddings.  I have prayed for the healing of the sick and I have prayed for the healing of marriages.  I have prayed at Morning Prayer services – at revivals – at special services and regular weekly services – and I would imagine that many of our readers have learned to pray in many of these same ways and times as well.

There is a prayer I pray every time I enter the pulpit – either so others can hear it or between me and the Lord – it is today’s verse – May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.  I would like to encourage us all to say this prayer every day. Pray that God would watch over all you do – say and think – in the day to come – that it would be pleasing in His sight.

The Psalm that today’s verse ends – starts this way – Psalms 19:1-4 – 1 The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. 2 Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge. 3 There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard. 4 Their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world.  Day after day I encourage our readers to pray – May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.  This is such a powerful and yet humble prayer.  Lord – may my thoughts and the words I share today be acceptable in your sight.  May I be pleasing to You throughout my day.  Let this be our daily morning prayer!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

August 11, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

