Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Listening to God

Isaiah 55:3

Give ear and come to me; listen, that you may live. I will make an everlasting covenant with you, my faithful love promised to David.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgMy dad – much like many dads I imagine – and moms – would give me advice from time to time. He would tell me – if you follow my directions you will do well my son. Who has given you advice over the years? Do you give your children advice?  Do you think they would do better in life if they listened to you?  I miss my dad’s advice – especially his advice about ministry. He was a very strong man of God – pastor – and father.

Today’s passage reads: Give ear and come to me; listen, that you may live. I will make an everlasting covenant with you, my faithful love promised to David. Give ear to God – listen to God – and we will live. Pretty plan and simple I would say.  If we would just listen to God!

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Isaiah 55:1–5 – 1 “Come, all you who are thirsty,  come to the waters; and you who have no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost. 2 Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy? Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and you will delight in the richest of fare. 3 Give ear and come to me; listen, that you may live. I will make an everlasting covenant with you, my faithful love promised to David. 4 See, I have made him a witness to the peoples, a ruler and commander of the peoples. 5 Surely you will summon nations you know not, and nations you do not know will come running to you, because of the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, for he has endowed you with splendor.”

As I mentioned Sunday in the sermon – we should seek His face and desire His grace! Coming before God – seeking His face – and listening for His voice is what we need to do! Listening to God is something that will allow us to have victory in our life!  If we listen – we will live!  No brainer!!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

August 14, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

