Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

A Lamp For My Feet

Psalm 119:105

Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgI wrote about playing flashlight tag the other day. Flashlight tag turned into Laser tag and even – as someone mentioned – saber lasers in the movies!

I’ve written about Boy Scouts and camping before and one of the things I remember doing on camping trips is going down dark paths with a flashlight. Flashlights will illuminate the path before you (if the batteries hold out). Step by step you can see the path before you. If you have a really good flashlight – you might see a few steps forward.

One of the short falls of a flashlight is that normally it is limited in where it can illuminate. Depending on how strong it is – a few steps or even a few yards ahead is the limit. Also – the flashlight normally only shines in the direction you have pointed it.

I remember once when I was walking down a path to the campsite – someone standing just off the trail was waiting to scare me. My flashlight was focused on the path ahead of me and I didn’t see them until they jumped out and scared me.  I don’t like the dark – have I ever said that before?

I had an assistant pastor once – who during his sermon – talking about this passage of scripture – used a powerful floodlight to show the difference between a regular flashlight and the light that God shines on our path. He reminded us that the Word of God would illuminate our paths – fully – as much as possible. Having placed our lives in Christ – we should not fear what might be hiding just outside of our vision – because God sees it and will carry us through it.  We should become students of the Word of God and allow God’s Word to illuminate our paths.

Light is good – in the darkness – and we are called to be the light. I don’t like the dark – I like to see where my next step will be.  I use to carry a very small flashlight when I walked to my deer stand in the pitch dark – just in case I needed a quick glimpse of the path before me. God’s light can shine in our lives and give us a full view of what is ahead. Psalm 119:105 – Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.  God’s word is a lamp unto our feet – upon our path! Dig into it and enlighten your path!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

August 28, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

