Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Forgive, And You Will Be Forgiven

Luke 6:37

Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgOur Father in heaven, hallowed be your name. Your Kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as in heaven. Give us today our daily bread. Forgive us our sins, as we forgive those who sin against us. Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. For the kingdom, the power and the glory are yours. Now and forever. Amen.

I’m sure most if not all of our readers recognize this as a version of the Lord’s Prayer. It is a modern version – a version that says – Forgive us our sins, as we forgive those who sin against us. It goes along with today’s verse – Luke 6:37 – Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.

I’m not sure we hear this. I’m not sure we realize what it means. We are asking God to forgive us as we forgive others (Lord’s Prayer).  Jesus is telling us (Luke 6:37) that we will be forgiven as we forgive others. Think about that for a moment. How forgiving are we? Do we hold grudges? Do we judge others? Do we tend to take exception to people?  Do we have a humble spirit – one that is needed to be forgiving?

Even though I know that we are called to forgive and not judge – I find myself less than forgiving at times to those who have hurt me and somewhat judgmental of them as well. It is a work in process for sure. But I know that I should forgive and not judge.

I realize that for me – it is easier to see the speck in another’s eye rather than the 2×4 in my own – anyone with me? We should pray for God to help us forgive and to resist being judgmental. Think about it!  Practice forgiveness – because we will be forgiven in the measure that we forgive others.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 3, 2014 - Posted by | Daily Devotion | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

