Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Gossip – No Place in the Church

Leviticus 19:16

Do not go about spreading slander among your people.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgI’ve written over the years about divorce, drunkenness, and other sins in the church. I would like to write about one of the sins that can destroy a church and a ministry in a very short time. Gossip about your pastor, about your leadership, about your church family, can be more deadly than just about anything.

Here are some scriptures that speak to this sin for sure.

Leviticus 19:16 – Do not go about spreading slander among your people.

Proverbs 11:13 – A gossip betrays a confidence, but a trustworthy man keeps a secret.

Proverbs 20:19 – A gossip betrays a confidence; so avoid a man who talks too much.

Luke 6:45 – The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.

As Paul was writing to the church in Corinth, he was concerned about gossip along with other sins in the life of the church. Is gossip something that plagues your church? Is gossip something that you struggle with – talking about others?

2 Corinthians 12:20-21 – 20 For I am afraid that when I come I may not find you as I want you to be, and you may not find me as you want me to be. I fear that there may be quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger, factions, slander, gossip, arrogance and disorder. 21 I am afraid that when I come again my God will humble me before you, and I will be grieved over many who have sinned earlier and have not repented of the impurity, sexual sin and debauchery in which they have indulged.

It isn’t always the outward, visible sins, that hurt and destroy the church. Gossip, along with other relational sins as mentioned in the above passage can do as much if not more damage. I have seen attitudes, gossip, anger, rage, jealousy, envy, unstable emotions, and more hurt ministries.

Your thoughts?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 12, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Of course, I agree with you that gossip can be deadly. Recently I learned that “gossip” is a word from the old English which literally means to “go sip.” Centuries ago, if the city fathers passed a new ordinance, they would make it known to everyone, then send one of their assistants to the pubs to “go sip” and just listen in to the citizen’s reactions to the actions they had taken. If the info brought back was favorable, they knew their new ordinance was well received. If not, they knew they might have to change it. If we had this understanding of gossip, of taking time to “go sip” with others and just listen to them, see what they are thinking and feeling, then I think it would be an acceptable practice to get in touch with the people, the “grass roots.” However, I think the current definition of gossip overcomes any historical background understanding. Still, I find the original use to be interesting and informative.

    Like

    Comment by Favorite Son | September 13, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

