Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Being a Disciple of Christ

Matthew 10:37

Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me;

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgWhat does it mean to be a disciple of Christ? How does that play out in our lives? Are we in a comfortable place – as a disciple – or are we struggling with the place God has for us?

I was spending some time with a member recently – and he shared that he was not comfortable with where God had him – and he was glad. When we get comfortable – it is time to move on to a new challenge. To follow Christ is not to be in some comfort zone. It is to be stretching and moving to new places where there is faith – rather than comfort.

Have you ever read and then struggled with the following passage? These are words from our Lord.

Matthew 10:32-39 – 32 “Whoever acknowledges me before men, I will also acknowledge him before my Father in heaven. 33 But whoever disowns me before men, I will disown him before my Father in heaven. 34 “Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. 35 For I have come to turn “‘a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law36 a man’s enemies will be the members of his own household.’ 37 “Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; 38 and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. 39 Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.

I do not see comfortable in any of these verses. Where are we – as a disciple of Christ? Are we going to places where we are not comfortable – serving our Lord? Is God demanding more of us than we feel comfortable giving? If so – than good. If not – why not?  What does it mean to be a disciple of Jesus Christ?

I was talking to a group of men from the church and here are some things they said about this passage. It is a very tough passage! Several of us have struggled with it over the years. We love our family so much – it blows us away to think we are to love God so much more! Witnessing for Jesus is more than words – it includes our actions. Being the family of God is more than coming to church – it might not even include coming to church – but it has to include relationships with other Christians. In the historic setting – Christ broke families up – as orthodox Jewish families who had a member receive Jesus – as Messiah – would often cast them out and even turn them in to the authorities. Jesus needs to be first – number one – in our lives. The greatest commandment is this – Mark 12:30 – Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. Do we love Jesus – more than anything else – even more than ourselves? That is what it means to be a disciple – a follower of Christ – a heart’s desire to be totally sold out for Him.  The men decided it wasn’t easy being a disciple of Jesus’.

Here’s something to think about today. Last night – some O’s fans stayed late into the night celebrating with the Oriole players – as they won their division in baseball. It was a first step toward other goals they have for the year (dare we say World Series). Some fans took pies in the face – were sprayed with all sorts of drinks – were totally engrossed in the moment. Totally sold out for the O’s – a baseball team. I love them – love to watch them – love to cheer for them – but – our love for God needs to be so much more!  Are we disciples of Jesus?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 17, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

