Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Remember Jesus

1 Corinthians 11:24

and when he had given thanks, he broke it and said, “This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me.”

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgYesterday was World Wide Communion Sunday. What that means is that most if not all-Christian churches around the world celebrate communion on that given Sunday – the first Sunday of October – no matter their traditions – in a sense of ecumenical connection. It is always a special Sunday – remembering Christ – His life – His death – and His resurrection – with other Christians. I always enjoy celebrating Holy Communion – the Eucharist – or the Lord’s Supper – it goes by many names in different traditions.

As some of our readers know – I have been out for a week recovering from surgery and so I missed World Wide Communion Sunday for the first time in my entire ministry. I’m so thankful for an elder in our denomination that attends our church filling in for me as the church celebrated communion yesterday.  The surgery is the reason I missed putting out a devotional thought on Thursday and Friday of last week if anyone was wondering.  I had gotten Monday through Wednesday on the server before I went to surgery but missed two days last week.

Communion is such a powerful time of remembrance for the church. At some churches I have served we took communion every Sunday. At some churches we took communion once a month – usually on the first Sunday. We’ve taken it formally or informally. We have used a lot of ritual or we have been very liturgy light. However we celebrate communion and whatever words are said – I always feel a closeness with Jesus as I remember His life – His death – and His resurrection – through communion.

One of the things that Jesus Himself told us about communion is that we are to do it in remembrance of Him. In today’s passage we are told as the bread was being shared – “This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me.” However you take communion – the call of Christ is to remember Him.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 6, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

