Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

A Mighty Warrior

Jeremiah 20:11

But the Lord is with me like a mighty warrior; so my persecutors will stumble and not prevail. They will fail and be thoroughly disgraced; their dishonor will never be forgotten.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgNelson Cruz has been a mighty warrior for the Baltimore Orioles this year. He hit 40 homers and had 108 RBI’s (runs batted in) to lead the team in both categories (his 40 homers led the majors). He kept it up in the first round of the playoffs hitting two more homers. His homer in the 3rd game – helped the Orioles sweep the Tigers in 3 games. He was voted MVP for the Orioles this year. I hope that he continues his torrid hitting all the way to the and through the World Series this year!

My dad was always a mighty warrior to me – he stood for Biblical truth – as he saw it – and never in my lifetime wavered from it. He was consistent and reliable and in this day and age when everything is ever changing – that was a solid foundation for me growing up.

Jeremiah saw the Lord as a mighty warrior in today’s passage. Here it is in partial context. Jeremiah 20:10–13 – 10 I hear many whispering, “Terror on every side! Denounce him! Let’s denounce him!” All my friends are waiting for me to slip, saying, “Perhaps he will be deceived; then we will prevail over him and take our revenge on him.” 11 But the Lord is with me like a mighty warrior; so my persecutors will stumble and not prevail. They will fail and be thoroughly disgraced; their dishonor will never be forgotten. 12 Lord Almighty, you who examine the righteous and probe the heart and mind, let me see your vengeance on them, for to you I have committed my cause. 13 Sing to the Lord! Give praise to the Lord! He rescues the life of the needy from the hands of the wicked.

Even when it seemed darkest – when others were turning from God – Jeremiah stood his ground and sought after the Lord!  The Lord was his mighty warrior and he was placing his trust squarely on Him.

Is the Lord your mighty warrior? He is mine. God has come to my rescue so many times – too many to count. My enemies have lined up at times to take shots at me but God has always seen me through the worst. I remember a tractor-trailer accident where I cried out for God to take me or save me – and He saved me – even though the police officer on the scene was sure I was a goner by the looks of my car. I remember other times when God was there for me – mighty warrior.

I remember when my dad died – it hit me in the gut like no other death. God has been very present with me – my mighty warrior – and has never let me dip too deep into depression as I mourn my father’s passing (yes – after two years I still mourn his passing).

Has God been your mighty warrior? Tell me about it!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 8, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

