Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God Wants to Give the Weary Rest

Matthew 11:28

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgYesterday I took a different path outside of my home during my walk. I usually walk to the left and cover 1.5 – 2.25 miles. There are some small hills – but the path I take is basically level and relatively easy to walk. Well, yesterday when I arrived at the top of my driveway I decided to turn right. Let me share that the community to the right is very hilly. The road goes down to a low area under the power lines but then it rises to the highest point in the community – and with a very steep climb. As I began the rise to the top of the community – my legs started to tire – and my breathing quickened. Numerous times I thought about stopping – turning back – or pausing long enough to catch my breath. I didn’t – I kept going.

As I arrived at the high point in the community I walked a little further until I came to the end of the road – at which point I turned around and started back. Yesterday the roads were wet from rain and there are leaves on the black top. Going down the steep hill was almost as hard as going up – in a different way. I had to step easy and I could feel my knees holding me back and was very aware of where I stepped. I made it to the bottom of the steep hill and walked level for a while in the low area – only to arrive at the smaller hill climbing to my home. This was an easy hill to walk down – but after the mile plus walk I had just finished – even the small hill took its toll on me. I arrived back home – my shirt soaked from the walk (I had a sweatshirt and a rain jacket on to stay warm and promote sweating – LOL). I was tired! I went inside – changed my shirt – sat down – and drank a protein shake.

Have you ever been tired? Have you ever worked on something or had a life experience that exhausted you? Have you ever had a hard time staying focused? Do you suffer from some disorder or illness? Have you had trying times come upon you? Did someone dear to you pass away (I’ll attend the funeral service of a High School classmate today)? Are you fighting an addiction? Are you having a hard time finding a place to live – a job – and life mate – or anything else of your heart’s desire? These and other things can tire us out! They can make us weary!

Life is not easy! It comes with trying times – often long periods of trying times. At times we might live through some seriously hard times that sap our strength and endurance. We can grow tired and weary.

I thought of today’s passage when I returned home from my walk yesterday. Matthew 11:28 – Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Jesus wants to give rest to the weary – to the heavily burdened people among us.  He wants to be there for us – really He does. Losing weight and becoming healthy are motivating factors for sure – but I want you to know I changed my tunes from oldies to contemporary Christian music halfway up that step hill and began to worship while climbing the last portion. I believe that is what enabled me to finish the whole walk without stopping. I’m not suggesting my mile plus walk was all that tough – under normal conditions – but for someone recovering from surgery – it was a challenge – and the wet road increased the difficulty. God helped me face it and I believe God can help all of us face our challenges too.  It doesn’t seem to mater to God what our burden is – spiritual – physical – emotional – or mental – God wants to give us rest – to comfort and strengthen us.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 14, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

