Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Can We Give God the Glory?

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgOver the years I have been in several situations where my weaknesses were tested. For instance – I’ve often said English was a foreign language for me – since I’m from West Virginia and we speak Hillbilly! English was always one of my weaknesses in school.

In sports – I was always pretty good at most – but my weakness was that I was never very good in any one of them. I couldn’t dunk until I was like 22 – too late to do any good – lol. I peaked with my outside shot – the three pointers – well after school as well. I was relegated to rec leagues and pick-up games.

If someone asked you where you were weakest – what would you say? What tempts you? What is hard to resist? Where do you falter the most?

Let’s look at today’s passage in partial context. 2 Corinthians 12:1-10 – 1 I must go on boasting. Although there is nothing to be gained, I will go on to visions and revelations from the Lord. I know a man in Christ who fourteen years ago was caught up to the third heaven. Whether it was in the body or out of the body I do not know—God knows. And I know that this man—whether in the body or apart from the body I do not know, but God knows—was caught up to paradise and heard inexpressible things, things that no one is permitted to tell. 5 I will boast about a man like that, but I will not boast about myself, except about my weaknesses. 6 Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say, or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

When we are weak – that is just the area that God wants to lift us up! He has promised to always give us a way out of any temptation. He will never call us to anything He won’t equip us to accomplish.

If we accomplish things in our strength – we might be tempted to claim the glory. When we accomplish things where we are weak – we will know it is God and not us – and give Him all the glory! Remember Gideon? How God dwindled his armies until he had to know the victory was the Lord’s and not his. Where are we weak? Where is God at work? Can we give God the glory?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

November 14, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

