Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Who Do You Like Being Near?

Psalm 73:28

But as for me, it is good to be near God.

Pic of Ray 11302014Who do you like being near? I’ve written in the past that my wife has allowed our small dog to sleep on our bed and that at times – he finds his way from the foot of the bed – up between the two of us. I have expressed my dislike of this – but to no avail – the dog remains on the bed and is allowed to snuggle up between us. I like sleeping near my wife – not near my dog – just saying.

Who do you like being near? I once had a best friend who lived a couple of doors from me when we lived on 69th Place in Seat Pleasant – MD. We played together often and would visit each other’s homes. It was nice having a friend so near.

Who do you like being near? My brother and I – while living on 69th Place – shared a bedroom. Mostly we enjoyed sharing our room. I enjoyed having my little brother near me.

Who do you like being near? The Psalmist said it was it was good being near God. Here is the total verse from today – Psalm 73:28 – But as for me, it is good to be near God. I have made the Sovereign Lord my refuge; I will tell of all your deeds.

Who do you like being near? I heard this long ago – if you wake up one morning and God seems so far away – don’t fool yourself into thinking God walked away from you – you are the one who walked away from God. God has promised to have our back (yesterday’s post). God has promised to never leave us nor forsake us (September 13, 2013).

Who do you like being near? Think about it and then examine who you are near now – and make sure God is at the top of your list!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

December 4, 2014 - Posted by | Advent Thought, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

