Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Best Friend

Hebrews 13:5

“Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

Pic of Ray 11302014Do you have any longtime friends that have been your friends for forever it seems? On Facebook and in other circles I have read or heard them called BFFs – Best Friends Forever.  They have even started ranking BBFs by calling them BFF1 or BFF2. It is above my pay grade!

My children were blessed more than most pastor’s children.  Because we were at one church for such a long time (24 years) they were able to start school (pre-school) and end High School with some of the same friends.  It was amazing for them and something that pastor’s children seldom get to experience.  Some of their friends have been there for them during all that time – even as they have finished college and have gotten married.  We have had their friends in and out of our home for so long we feel like they are part of our family.

First GradeI remember going to three different elementary schools – and two different junior high schools.  I attended three different churches during that time in my life and lived in five different homes in five different communities.  I have a few friends from high school that I keep in touch with today!  Fewer still from junior high or elementary school.  How about you?

It is a blessing to have friends from way back when!  One of my best friends has died already – at a very young age. Two others died this past year.  Some have moved away.  Still others attend a different church now and we run into each other fewer times.  And others have just gotten too busy with life to keep up.  But the few I have – and some I keep up with on Facebook – are a treasure.

But there is One who will never leave me/us – never forsake me/us for something or someone else.  That friend is Jesus Christ – our Lord and Savior.  We will celebrate His birth tonight in worship at 4 – 7 – & 11 pm.  I pray we will all take time out of our busy Christmas celebrations to remember this friend – our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Merry Christmas!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

December 24, 2014 - Posted by | Advent Thought, Christmas, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

