Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

21-Day Prayer/Fast – Day 10

Luke 4:1-2

1 Jesus, full of the Holy Spirit, returned from the Jordan and was led by the Spirit in the desert, 2 where for forty days he was tempted by the devil. He ate nothing during those days, and at the end of them he was hungry.

01032015 RayOK – I’m not trying to compare our 21 day prayer/fast with Jesus’ 40 days – for sure – but today’s devotional thought on www.youversion.com does bring it up!  Read day 10 in the 21-Day Fast reading plan and see what you think.

The devotional thought today does ask some interesting questions I thought I would share.  Here are a couple of the questions.  How is your fast strengthening you?  Do you feel like you are floundering? These questions were asked in light of what Jesus tackled after His 40 days of prayer and fasting – with the temptations that Satan bought His way and the strength that Jesus showed.  Again – not asking us to compare what we are facing with what Jesus faced!!  But Satan doesn’t want us to walk closer to Jesus and so Satan will do whatever he can do to discourage us.

bigGodSo how’s our strength – our walk?  How are we doing – really?  Do we feel like we are doing well or not so well?  Have you cheated any?  If so – did we let Satan beat us up over it or did we get right back to the prayer/fast?  Readers, where would you say you have gained new insight and strength?  Do we feel closer to Jesus as we enter day 10 of our 21 day prayer/fast?  Has God given us anything that we could share with the rest of our readers?  We would love to hear what God is saying to you!

I started the prayer/fast by saying I was looking for a closer walk with Jesus – a deeper touch from His Spirit – even a healing from the pain of years past.  My family and I have faced some very tough times – with several things happening during the course of the last few years that had never happened.  As day 10 arrives I feel a deeper confidence in the Sovereignty of God as my life is laid bare before Him.  God is mightier than anything in my life – that includes the good and the bad.  I trust Him more today than on day one – not saying I did not trust Him on day one – but I do more so today!

I heard a cute saying that I have begun to use.  It goes like this – Don’t tell God that you have a big problem, tell your problem that you have a big God!  I have been trying to do that during the prayer/fast – even more as the days mount.  My wife keeps reminding me during this prayer/fast – that God is in control and that we simply need to put our total trust in Him.  What is that old saying?  God isn’t through with me yet!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 14, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, Fast, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

