Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

21-Day Prayer/Fast – Day 15

Psalm 51:1-2

1 Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. 2 Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin.

01032015 RayHave mercy on me/us dear Lord as we enter our third and final week of the 21 Day Prayer/Fast.  As we embark on the end of this journey and prepare for the next – be ever before us – with us and behind us.  During Lent (and a little before) we will enter into a 40-Day time of reading through the entire New Testament.  Stay tuned for more information later.

I want to ask a question that I have asked a number of times during the prayer/fast – What have we learned through the 21-Day Prayer/Fast?  What has God revealed to us?  What is God saying to us – to our family – and to our church?

The Psalmist – reading from Psalm 51:1-19 – begins with today’s verses – Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin.  As we enter this final week of the 21-Day Prayer/Fast – I challenge us to ask God to examine our deepest thoughts – our deepest hurts – our deepest sins – our very soul.

21 day prayer fastAs I have tried to unwrap my last few years before God during our prayer/fast I have found myself shedding more than a few tears.  Tears from the pain – tears from the healing – and tears simply from the emotions involved.  Don’t get too worried – I am a crier – naturally – for sure.  Many have heard me say I can’t watch a Jimmy Stewart movie without crying.  For the younger generation – Jimmy Stewart is one of the all time great actors and starred in move’s like 1946’s It’s A Wonderful Life – 1954’s The Glenn Miller Story – 1963’s How the West Was Won – and 1939’s Mr. Smith Goes to Washington – just name a few.

As cleansing as the tears have been – the times spent with Jesus during the prayer/fast have been even more impactful.  I have felt – like few times before – the very presence of God sitting with me.  I know there are many prayer warriors who have been lifting me up in prayer as the last few years have unfolded and I appreciate them and feel their prayers.  I cry out – like the Psalmist – and encourage others to do the same – Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin.

Our reading for today tells us all to do this – Ask God to search you and begin to shine a light on all the dark corners of your heart. Ask Him to use this last week to refine you and cleanse you.  I challenge us all to do this today.  Let God search us and know us full well!  Are there sins we have not confessed and made right yet?  Are there attitudes that need adjusted?  Are there habits still to be released?  Are there hurts that need healed?  Don’t let this day – this week or this 21-Day Prayer/Fast pass without allowing God access to your very heart and soul.   We’re asked all the time to give access to our pictures – our Facebook or Twitter page – our contacts – and now Jesus is asking for access to our heart and soul.  Please click the allow button and receive the healing that God offers.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 19, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, Fast, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

