Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

21-Day Prayer/Fast – Day 16

Psalm 27:4

One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.

01032015 RayDuring our 21-Day Prayer/Fast – I hope we have spent more time seeking God rather than merely seeking what God can do for us.  We probably all know what it feels like to find out that someone was our friend or at least presented themselves to be our friend simply to find out they were merely out for something.  My prayer is that we have been seeking His face more than merely desiring His grace.  Even though we often say – seeking His face while desiring His grace – my prayer is that we are seeking God’s face first and foremost during our 21-Day Prayer/Fast.  Being in God’s presence is what our heart should desire.

The Psalmist begins today’s reading by describing the power and awesomeness of God – Psalm 27:1-3 – 1 The Lord is my light and my salvation – whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life – of whom shall I be afraid?  2 When evil men advance against me to devour my flesh, when my enemies and my foes attack me, they will stumble and fall.  3 Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then will I be confident.  What comes next is what I feel we should be striving for during the prayer fast.  Psalm 27:4 – One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.

21-day-fastGazing upon God’s face is where it’s at my friends and readers.  Have you ever felt that mountain top experience where you have felt the presence of God?  A place or time where you knew you were in His presence?  Maybe it was after a great spiritual event like a revival (like last year’s Pre-Lenten Revival) – or a Promise Keeper’s event (like Stand in the Gap) – or a Catalyst Conference (like some of us have attended in Atlanta).  Maybe it has even been during this 21-Day Prayer/Fast – where we have felt the very presence of God.  Whenever or wherever it happens for you – past or future – I know you won’t forget it.  For me one of those experiences was being on the Mall in DC during the Stand in the Gap Promise Keeper’s event October 4, 1997.  Well over a million men gathered to stand in the gap for our nation.  Kneeling before God in silent prayer with so many men seeking the face of God was a very moving moment.  It was an experience I will never forget.

The Psalmist reminds us later in the Psalm to seek God’s face – Psalm 27:8 – My heart says of you, “Seek his face!” Your face, Lord, I will seek. My prayer for us all is that we will gaze upon the face of God – here and now – and in eternity yet to come!

By the way – this year’s Pre-Lenten revival will begin on Sunday – February 15.  We will work through 2 Chronicles 7:14 during the revival – which will start on Sunday morning (at 8:15 & 11 am) and continue each evening – Sunday through Wednesday (Ash Wednesday) at 7 pm.  The revival will end on Sunday – February 22.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 20, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, Fast, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Personal, Prayer, Theology, Vision | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

