Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God’s Hand Holds Me Up

Psalm 63:8

I cling to you; your strong right hand holds me securely.

IMG_0301With two granddaughters on the way (February/April) – and with the two blessings our family already has (Vyrie/Justice) – I often think back to when my three girls (Shelly/Nicole/Jaclyn) were young. I think of Shelly jumping off the playground equipment into my arms – trusting that her daddy would catch her. She was so trusting. I think of how Jaclyn would stop crying when I would pick up Nicole (they are twins and I swear Jaclyn thought I was picking her up – LOL). I think of how our children trusted their parents to love them and protect them – against all evil – and to always be there for them. We tried to be there for them – being involved in their schools – with their friend’s families – in their sports and activities. But we were not always there – and evil crept in from time-to-time.

At times is was the evil in the world around them that seems so hard to avoid – at times it was the evil working in me – at times it was evil working in them. We try – but we don’t always succeed in avoiding the evil all around us. Try as we might – our sinful nature (and the sinful nature of others) rears its ugly head from time to time and we fail. The human condition is such that we are selfish – even when we don’t want to be – many times.

My prayer for my four grandchildren – like it was/is for my children and is for me – is that we will all grow to trust moment-by-moment in the One who will never leave us nor forsake us (Deuteronomy 31:6). It is a prayer I would ask all of us to lift for our children and the generations to follow.

Life happens – sin happens – evil abounds in some and impacts us all. I was impressed yesterday – in an open discussion – how many of us have a hard time making small sacrifices for our Lord while Jesus made the ultimate sacrifice for us (while we were yet His enemies – Romans 5:8 – But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.)

There were times – when my children were growing up – that they did things I didn’t approve of or appreciate – yet my love for them never waned. When disciplining them for their wrong doings I always tried to remind them that I loved them. I try – even to this day – to remind them that I love them – as often as possible (I just group texted them). Although my love is not perfect like God’s – it is the part of me where I can best represent God to them – to love them despite their sin (not loving the sin for sure). It is the way God loves me – in the midst of my sin.

I’ve told my girls – often – and have shown it in various ways over the years – that daddy will always be there for them – always be on their side – always be their biggest fan. Today’s passage speaks of God holding us up – as I imagine He does all the time – in a variety of life’s situations. Psalm 63:8 – I cling to you; your strong right hand holds me securely. I try to be a strong right hand for my children – though I often fail – but the One who will never fail us – has His hand outstretched to hold us up – if we would only turn to Him.

Have you turned your life over to Jesus yet? Have you humbled yourself before the Almighty and asked Him to be your Lord and Savior – the Master of your life? If not – please pray about doing so this moment. We will not always be perfect – there was only One who was sinless – but we can always have One in whom we trust to hold us up – even in the tough moments of life.  God’s hand holds us up!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 28, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

