Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Showing God’s Love

John 13:34

So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other.

IMG_0301I can remember – as a youngster – yes – that is a long time ago – passing notes in class. Do you remember passing notes? We would get in trouble if the teacher caught us. I remember getting notes that said – I like you – do you like me? Did you ever get one like that?

In elementary school the girls put together little information booklets. They passed them around and everyone was asked to answer the questions. A question in one of the booklets I got was – do you like Dark Shadows? I thought they meant dark shadows in the night. I wasn’t into watching that TV show – didn’t even know that show existed. I said I like dark shadows. The next page in the booklet starting asking questions about the TV show – talking about the characters and such and I was lost!

Liking or loving something or someone is easier when you know about it or when a person likes or loves you back. Loving those that love you is usually easy. I love my children – my wife – my family – and it is easy to love them – most of the time – because they love me back. Being loved in return makes it easier to show love.

Loving those who hate you – those who despise you – those who have evil intent toward you – now that would be hard. Loving those who steal from you – now that would be hard. Yesterday we used this passage – Romans 5:8 – But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Dear readers – while we were God’s enemies – sinners – lost and headed to hell – Christ showed His love for us by dying on the Cross of Calvary. Christ died for the ungodly – so that we might be made righteous before the Father through His shed blood.

Christ gave His followers a new command – one that was very unusual – it was to love one another. John 13:34 – So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other. Showing love – even to those who seem unlovable – is what God calls us to do dear readers. We’re called to show love to others – just as Christ loved us. In showing this love – we will show people Jesus.

An old hymn we use to sing has a refrain that goes like this – And they’ll know we are Christians by our love, by our love, Yes, they’ll know we are Christians by our love. It doesn’t say – they will know we are Christians by our doctrine or by the size of our church or even the size of our congregation. It says – they’ll know we are Christians by our love.

If we want to be a better Christian – one that walks more fully in the path of Christ – we need to work on our love – on our mercy and grace. We need to turn the other cheek more. We need to give up ownership and control of our lives and give them over to Jesus.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 29, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

