Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God Has a Plan!

Ephesians 2:10

For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

IMG_0301OK – I admit it – I’m writing this devotion during the halftime of the Super Bowl – and into the 3rd quarter. My team isn’t in the game – as a mater of fact – not team I care about is in the Super Bowl. If not the Ravens or the Redskins – I would be excited to watch Peyton Manning and the Broncos – Andrew Luck and the Colts – or Aaron Rogers and the Packers. Maybe I would watch a few other teams – but the Seahawks and the Patriots – not a game I care to watch – although I have watched the first half and will probably keep an eye on the game – it is the Super Bowl after all.

If I had to say who I was pulling for – and of course the game will be over before this devotional comes out – I would say I’m pulling for the Seahawks – if pushed to make a decision. Deflategate and other such happenings turned me against the Patriots – along with the team arrogance.

Both teams – I assume – have come in with a game plan. They have players ready to make key plays – and a game plan to try and defeat the other team. The Seahawks are trying to run the ball and throw enough big plays to keep the defense honest so they can run the ball. The Patriots are trying to put the ball in their quarterback’s hand and allowing this future Hall of Famer to do what he does best. By the way – the 3rd quarter just started – the TV in my office is on but I am listening to my James Taylor channel on Pandora with the sound off on the TV (I turn up the sound when the commercials come on).

What is God’s plan for your life? Did you know that God has a plan for your life? I firmly believe that God has a plan for every single person on the earth – past – present – and future. Today’s passage tells us that we are God’s handiwork – Ephesians 2:10 – For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Let’s look at today’s passage in partial context. Ephesians 2:1-10 – 1 As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, 2 in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our flesh and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature deserving of wrath. But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved. And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, 7 in order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. 8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast. 10 For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

God has a plan – and that plan includes us obeying His commands. God has a plan – and that plan involves His Son paying for our sins. God has a plan – and that plan is not set in stone – but rather open ended depending on whether we respond to God’s grace and seek His face! What will it be for us? Will we seek God’s plan for our lives? Will we deny self and take up our cross and follow Him?

OK – the Seahawks are up 24-14. I’m not sure if that score will hold up. I’m sure the Patriot’s have a plan when/if their team got behind. We’ll see if the players can follow the plan. We’ll also see if the Seahawks plan to hold a lead late in the game holds up. More importantly – as individuals – as families – and as a church family – we should seek the plan God has for us.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

February 2, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Whatever OUR plans are, we still don’t know what tomorrow will bring. Maybe a miraculous, unexpected catch just shy of the goal line or an interception to change the then expected outcome of the game. Therefore, we need to try to be in line with God’s plan and know he can redeem any situation we find ourselves in.

    Like

    Comment by Dave Self | February 2, 2015 | Reply

    • Excellent Dave!

      Like

      Comment by raymcdonald | February 2, 2015 | Reply

  2. I agree with you about the “Pats”, reason I did not root for them.

    Like

    Comment by Eileen Borst | February 3, 2015 | Reply

  3. Rev Ray:   I was in the service on the 25th (which I enjoyed very much – I was moved) and am taking the read the New Testament in 40 days challenge.  I downloaded the first four days of Biblica and now have no idea where to get the rest!  I don’t want to get behind and listening on iPod is perfect for me since along with most people in the area, I have a long commute.  I looking forward to Sunday school this Sunday! Jo Villarreal Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote. – Benjamin Franklin

    Like

    Comment by Jo V | February 3, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

