Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

For God So Loved the World

John 3:16-17

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.

IMG_0301I like golf – it just doesn’t always like me – but I like it – and enjoy playing at it. Some say it is a good walk in the outdoors – spoiled. Not me – I love the nature in golf – but I also like the game itself. I plan to improve my game this year – with my weight loss I plan to get back to walking the course. I usually play better when I walk the course – and the weight loss (60 pounds so far) should help. I’d like to play in the 70’s (not the temperature folks) this summer on a regular basis. Last summer I didn’t hit the 70’s at all and played mostly in the mid 80’s. We shall see!

I do what some think the most boring thing imaginable – I watch golf on TV (I’d rather be playing – but I do enjoy a good match on TV from time-to-time). When you watch golf – many times in the crowd around a tee-box – you see someone with a sign that simply says John 3:16. The assumption is that most people know what that verse says – or maybe it will cause them to go and look it up. It is part of this morning’s passage. John 3:16-17 – 16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.

This verse is probably one of the all time favorites for most people. It speaks of God’s love for the whole world – and how He came to save us from our sin. To imagine – that Jesus came and died for all people – if they would simply turn their hearts toward Him – is so powerful. Christ died for the sins of the whole world – now that’s powerful. 1 John 2:2 – He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world. Although He died to pay for all sin – not everyone

During our revival – which began yesterday and runs through Wednesday night – at 7 pm each night – we will be searching for ways to be healed – to be forgiven of our sins – and our brokenness. Plan now to attend and invite someone to join you.

We will have something special Tuesday night (a covered dish meal beginning at 5:30 pm) and Wednesday night (deposition of ashes and hand-washing). This year we will conclude the revival on Sunday – February 22nd.

All week the devotional thoughts will center on the revival. I can remember – from my childhood days – attending sawdust camp meetings and revivals – all over tri-state area (Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia). Although there won’t be any sawdust (maybe we’ll find some) – we are praying for a great movement of the Holy Spirit on our church family and all who attend. I pray that many will come to know Jesus and many will be revived in their faith. During our revival we will breaking down 2 Chronicles 7:14 – if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

If we truly seek after Christ and strive to be like Him – with our whole being – minds – souls – and bodies – we will be welcomed by Christ and forgiven when we fail. We are called to love God with our all – Luke 10:27 – He answered, Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

February 16, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

