Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Gethsemane Moments

Matthew 26:39

Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

IMG_0301OK – it is the second day of Lent. How goes it? Have you had a Gethsemane moment yet? At the revival this week – and throughout the last few months – we have occasionally challenged the church to consider where their Gethsemane moments might occur – times when we say – not as I will – but as You will.

The traditional purpose of Lent is to prepare us as we walk toward the Cross of Calvary. Followers of Christ traditionally spend (more) time in prayer – in paying penance – repenting of our sins – almsgiving (like giving to the poor) – and in self-denial. Traditionally folks will give up something for Lent (I noticed that some gave us social media for Lent). Along with giving something up – they often add something to their faith walk as well.

The challenge this Lent is to remove something – a food or drink that you desire – a TV show you enjoy – time on the Internet – or something else you desire/enjoy – and spend time looking for Gethsemane moments in your life. Where is it that you must decide between what you want/desire and what God desires for you? Where are you being asked to deny self and take up your cross and follow Jesus? Where do you find yourself saying – not as I will – but as You will?

Lent is 40 days (not counting the Sundays) – and our Bishop has challenged us to give $1 a day for the 40 days of Lent – given to the local church to be used in support of some local ministry where the local church is involved. If you wish to participate in this Almsgiving – mark your check for Lent and place it in the offering plate during Holy Week or on Easter morning. I would suggest that our Lenten offering go toward our Good Samaritan Fund but other suggestions are welcome.

Where are your Gethsemane moments? Share some of them if you would – I would love to hear how we are wrestling with our faith. Recently I tweeted this (which posted to Facebook as well) – Wrestling with several things, personal and professional. Prayers appreciated! ‪#‎SeekingGodsPurpose ‪#‎RevivalIsAChangedHeart ‪#‎SeekHisFace. Several people responded with concern for whatever I was wrestling with for sure. Wrestling with things is not always a bad thing sisters and brothers. I imagine that Jesus wrestled with his will verses the Father’s will as he knelt and prayed in Gethsemane. My wrestling of late has to do with that challenge – to seek God’s will over my will – seeking my Gethsemane moments. This is part of my personal and professional life. I want to be in the Father’s will in my whole being – by His grace.

Where are our Gethsemane moments? Where are we wrestling with our will verses the Father’s will? Where are we yielding our will to the Father?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

PS – sorry this is out late today – I crashed after the revival (thanks to my wife for letting me sleep)!

February 19, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Fast, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

