Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Mind of Christ

1 Corinthians 2:16

But we have the mind of Christ.

IMG_0301Soon I will be a grandparent – again. My third and fourth grandchildren are on the way. Any day now – my youngest child will give birth to her second child. Beautiful women surround me – from my wife to my daughters to my granddaughters. I say this – not to brag about the beautiful women that surround me – but to reveal that I have had a lifetime of trying to figure out the mind of the opposite sex. I’m here to testify that this is just not possible!

It may just be me – or the women in my family – but trying to figure out how they think is not an easy task. Maybe it is my feeble mind – maybe they are just trying to keep me guessing. Whatever the reason – I have two more women coming into my life this year. They all have me wrapped around their fingers for sure – especially my granddaughters.

Today’s passage is about knowing God’s mind. Now this seems to me a greater task than understanding the women in my life – yet as much as I struggle understanding their minds – I’m told I can know the mind of God – even have the mind of God.

Here is today’s passage in partial context. 1 Corinthians 2:6–16 – We do, however, speak a message of wisdom among the mature, but not the wisdom of this age or of the rulers of this age, who are coming to nothing. No, we declare God’s wisdom, a mystery that has been hidden and that God destined for our glory before time began. None of the rulers of this age understood it, for if they had, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory. However, as it is written: “What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no human mind has conceived”— the things God has prepared for those who love him— 10 these are the things God has revealed to us by his Spirit. The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God. 11 For who knows a person’s thoughts except their own spirit within them? In the same way no one knows the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God. 12 What we have received is not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may understand what God has freely given us. 13 This is what we speak, not in words taught us by human wisdom but in words taught by the Spirit, explaining spiritual realities with Spirit-taught words. 14 The person without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God but considers them foolishness, and cannot understand them because they are discerned only through the Spirit. 15 The person with the Spirit makes judgments about all things, but such a person is not subject to merely human judgments, 16 for, “Who has known the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ.

I think understanding the minds of the women in my family is a nice endeavor – but understanding the mind of God is something that we’re actually called to do and told we can accomplish. Here’s my favorite passage concerning the mind or will of God. Romans 12:1–2 – 1 Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. 2 Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

It is the season for United Methodist clergy to scratch our heads and try to understand the mind of the cabinet and bishop as appointments are being set.  The Kitchen Cabinet always tries to guess who will be going where – often to not avail. At times we might figure it out – but most often we are not able to understand the mind of the cabinet or bishop.  Today I challenge us to lean into and learn the mind of God – the mind of Christ – because we are told we can know God’s mind if we seek after Him. It will be a blessing to us!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

February 23, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Fast, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Don’t worry Ray… the opposite is true too. We woman just don’t understand men!! Enjoy the women in your life as you celebrate your new granddaughters!

    Like

    Comment by denise | February 23, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

