Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

We Were Bought At A Price

1 Corinthians 6:20

…you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.

RayChildOK – my wife says I’m about ready to purchase some new clothes. I’m hovering around 60 pounds lost – my goal in my first year (I’m only into my 4th month since surgery) is 75-100 pounds so I still have some losing to do. When I look at the cost of new clothes – I was kind of hoping I would only need to buy once. I found a company called Trunk Club on Facebook – they will pick out your clothes for you and send them to you – LOL. The style is great (my wife can match clothes for me) but the cost is high. These type of services are for those on the move who cannot take the time or do not have the ability to match clothes and have plenty of money I think.

I might purchase a few pairs of pants – I already bought a couple new shirts – and maybe one new dress jacket – maybe two – to get me through this middle stage of the process. The issue for me is not wanting to spend too much that I feel bad about letting them go in a few months verses not wanting to look like I’m swimming in my clothes now till I do buy. I have gone down 4 sizes in pants – I’m wearing belts I haven’t in years – and my shirts are starting to bag. I’m not complaining mind you – but I hate spending money on clothes – LOL.

Are the clothes worth the price – that is the question for me? My wife seems to think so – I’m not sold yet – pun intended. The next week or so will tell what I end up doing (my birthday is this Wednesday – maybe I’ll go on a spending spree – I’ll be 60 and thus the picture I used today to remind me that I was once young).

I’m so glad that Jesus didn’t debate the cost of purchasing my soul like I’m debating the purchase of a few new clothes.  Jesus paid the price for the sins of the whole world – past – present – and future. The cost was high – God the Son giving His life for our sins – and it becomes effective for us – we merely need to turn our hearts and lives over to Jesus.

Let’s look at today’s passage in partial context. Paul was teaching/writing about things that were acceptable – things that were beneficial – for a believer. 1 Corinthians 6:12–20 – 12 “I have the right to do anything,” you say—but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything”—but I will not be mastered by anything. 13 You say, “Food for the stomach and the stomach for food, and God will destroy them both.” The body, however, is not meant for sexual immorality but for the Lord, and the Lord for the body. 14 By his power God raised the Lord from the dead, and he will raise us also. 15 Do you not know that your bodies are members of Christ himself? Shall I then take the members of Christ and unite them with a prostitute? Never! 16 Do you not know that he who unites himself with a prostitute is one with her in body? For it is said, “The two will become one flesh.”  17 But whoever is united with the Lord is one with him in spirit.  18 Flee from sexual immorality. All other sins a person commits are outside the body, but whoever sins sexually, sins against their own body. 19 Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.

The passage reminds us that we were bought and paid for by Christ’s death – and reminds us that we are to be sexually pure – undefiled – a temple for our Lord. We are to flee from sexual immorality. We are to remember that we no longer belong to ourselves – to please our desires – but rather – we are bought and paid for by Christ – to serve Him.

Jesus felt that we were worth the price – His death on the cross of Calvary. If we are His – we need to remember to deny self and follow Him – we were bought at a price!  Let us live during this Lenten season to examine ourselves and walk more completely with Jesus!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 2, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

