Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Building On A Firm Foundation

Matthew 7:24

Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock.

RayChildLet me begin today by saying this is my last day in my 50s. Tomorrow I turn 60 years old. I keep saying that so that when I’m actually 60 – it won’t be such a big shock. I mean – there are so many benefits to being in your 60s! There will be more discounts in more places (I’ve had my AARP card since I was 50 – but some places require you to be 60 or even older for their discounts – go figure)! In some golf tournaments – 60 and over get to hit from the forward tees! That will be nice!

My friend – who just turned 60 – says it is no big deal! Another friend – who is well into his 60s says the same. I heard that 60 is the new 50! This week it has started to hit me!

I saw a Facebook video the other day of an 80 year old doing exercises I can’t do at 60 – so age is not the issue – it is the firm foundation we have or don’t have that counts. I want to spend my 60s living in such a way that my 70s and 80s and beyond can be possible! My wife urges me to become more active instead of less active as I age!

Building on a firm foundation is so much better than building on sand for instance. A storm or a sickness can wash away sand or a weak body. The scriptures remind us of this fact. After Jesus had been teaching for a while – He shares today’s passage. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Matthew 7:24–27 – 24 “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25 The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. 26 But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. 27 The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”

If our faith is not built upon Jesus – it will fail and fall. Jesus is the Rock that we need to build our faith upon. He is the One that will weather all the storms – literally or figuratively – in our lives.  It isn’t about what we think or feel – it is about what Jesus said and did that counts!  We should be seeking His face more and more each day – building a firm foundation of faith on the Rock!

As I enter my 60s – I need to rely more and more on Jesus – even as we all do as each day unfolds before us.  I want to spend more time working on my earthly and my eternal houses.  I have neglected both at times in my first 60 years and so for the next however many years I have I want to work on my earthly temple and my spiritual one!  Who is with me?  We need to listen to the teachings of Jesus!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 3, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Great reminder to build our health, spiritually and physically on the firm foundation to enjoy our latter years. Very happy birthday as you sail into your active 60s. All God’s best to you!

    Like

    Comment by connectdd | March 3, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you! May God richly bless you and may you be a blessing to others as well! I know God is not finished with me yet!

      Liked by 1 person

      Comment by raymcdonald | March 3, 2015 | Reply

  2. During my 60’s I returned to God and I have felt His joy ever since in one way or another (meeting and marrying my lovely wife for instance)!

    Like

    Comment by snoyes4310 | March 3, 2015 | Reply

    • Amen – thank you for your faithfulness at FUMC.

      Like

      Comment by raymcdonald | March 3, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

