Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

A Time For Everything!

Ecclesiastes 3:1

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens:

Young&OldWell – today is the day. If there is a season for everything under the heavens – today is the day I turn 60 (and I was awake at 3 am to enjoy every moment of it)! As my dad use to say – today I start my 61st year. Wow how time flies.  A friend told me that tomorrow I would be closer to 70 than 50 – what a friend!!

I have been using a childhood picture this week for my blog posts – and today I use a combo picture from my childhood and most recently. Wow how times flies.  The young kid has gotten older – has finally entered the second half of his life (according to one of the children from our Young Disciples time Sunday morning).

I was thinking the other day about the concept of making time for things. We seem to make time for the things that are most important to us. If we like golf – we will rearrange our schedule to fit in 9 or 18 holes. If we want to catch a favorite show – we will rearrange our schedule or make sure to make time to see it later On Demand or on the DVR. If joining with others to worship God on a Sunday morning is important – we will work around other things to make sure we are present. We don’t actually make new time we simply arrange our time to fit in what is important.

The passage today says there is a time for everything. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Ecclesiastes 3:1–8 – 1 There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: 2 a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, 3 a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, 4 a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, 5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing, 6 a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, 7 a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, 8 a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace.

So as I turn 60 today (I was reminded by a friend that tomorrow – March 5 – I will be closer in age to 70 than 50 – with friends like this who needs enemies – right!) – there is a time for this and there is a time for the other events in my life. As God wills and I make the effort to respond to His will – there will be just the right amount of time to do all that God desires for me and even some time to do some of my desires too!

I don’t feel like I am slowing down much – except on the basketball court and chasing my grandchildren.  I look forward to years of enjoyment with my wife – children – and grandchildren (maybe even living long enough to see great-grandchildren).  I look forward to fruitful ministry in the years I have left in active ministry (I figure I will always be in ministry – even after I retire).  After all – pastors don’t retire – they simply go out to pastor (pasture) in other places.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 4, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

