Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Morning Devotions

Psalm 5:3

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly.

IMG_0301Are you a morning person? Do you awaken early – bounce out of bed – have a smile on your face – and tackle your day with vigor and vitality? If so – you need to go to the doctor for a check-up – because that is just not right!! As a non-morning person – I can tell you – my father was a morning person – and he never seemed to understand that – although I look like him – was named after him – even went into the same calling (ordained ministry) – I’m just not a morning person. I did my best work late at night after the wife and children (when they were younger) – went to bed. I could get so much more done from 11 pm to 2 pm than from 5 to 8 am. Can anyone testify with me please!

OK – now before you get me wrong – I rarely sleep in these days. I’m up by 6 am most mornings – actually earlier 4 days each week when I am playing basketball (M-W-F) or getting ready for worship on Sunday mornings. Yet – I would love to sleep till 8 or so when given the chance. I rarely needed more than 4-6 hours of sleep when I was younger – so going to bed at 2 am and getting up by 8 am was a breeze. These days – I like to get my 8 hours – so going to bed by 10 pm to get up at 6 am is the norm.

Today’s passage speaks about the morning – so that is why you got the first two paragraphs. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 5:1–3 – Listen to my words, Lord, consider my lament. Hear my cry for help, my King and my God, for to you I pray. In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly.

The Psalmist was writing about putting his pleas before the Lord. The Psalmist suggests that he would cry out in the morning – Hear my cry for help… for to You I pray. In the morning… hear my voice.

I want to suggest – whatever time you arise in the morning – that you allow 15 minutes to sit before God in prayer and devotions to start your day. Lay your heart before God – and if possible – do your daily devotions in the morning – first thing. Start your day before God and spend those precious moments focused on His will for your day and life. Search for those Gethsemane moments when you can deny self and take up your cross and follow God. Seek His face and desire His grace!

If you’re like me – those precious moments can set you up for success for the day. Centering yourself on Jesus helps to focus your day. Morning devotions can help to organize and prioritize your day. Give it a try between now and Easter morning and see if it helps!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 17, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

