Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

In Whom Do You Trust?

Psalm 56:3

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.

IMG_0301It is rare to find a large number of people you can trust. At times it is hard to find even one. I know a number of people who thought they had found someone to trust – only to have the person or persons break their trust.

One of my granddaughters spent the night last night (her parents too). Mom and dad were out visiting another daughter and my granddaughter woke. I was in my office and heard her crying and coughing. She was calling for her mommy and not very happy. Not sure if her cough woke her or maybe she was afraid in a different bed. Anyway – Pop went in and picked her up and rocked her and patted her back and soothed her and she settled down.

I love being trusted by my daughters to care for the ones they love the most – their children. I pray I never do anything to destroy that trust – cause Pop loves him some grandchildren (my fourth is due in April)! I’m teaching my grandchildren a song I made up – it goes like this – I love Pop – Pop loves me – and that’s the way it’s going to be! I know corny – but I want them to always know their Pop loves them. I pray they grow to trust their Pop.

Let’s look at today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 56:1–4 – Be merciful to me, my God, for my enemies are in hot pursuit; all day long they press their attack. My adversaries pursue me all day long; in their pride many are attacking me. When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. 4 In God, whose word I praise— in God I trust and am not afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?

The Psalmist put his trust in God when times were tough – when his enemy was all around him. To whom do we turn when times are tough? In a recent sermon I mentioned the need to build a relationship with God while times are good so that the relationship would be there when times are tough.

I know a couple that is facing a tough season in their marriage. I encouraged them to turn to Jesus and to trust in Him. I encouraged them to allow Jesus to work on their marriage (I also gave them some sound tools to use in their marriage).

I know a person that is battling with and an addiction. I encouraged them to turn it over to Jesus and trust in Him. I encouraged them to allow Jesus to work in their life – to give them a spiritual high that is better than any drug (I also guided them to an addiction support group).

I know a person of faith – that has had periods of doubt – and this scares them. I encouraged them to keep seeking His face and desiring His grace (I also encouraged them to increase their Bible reading and devotionals – putting more of Jesus in their life and allowing the doubts and fears less space). It is a scaring thing to have faith and than to feel like you have lost your faith.

Where are you afraid? What is happening in your life that causes you fear or frustration? Place your trust in Jesus while taking steps to improve your daily life. When we are afraid – we need to put our trust in Jesus.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 26, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

