Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

We Need To Listen To God!

Matthew 7:24

Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock.

IMG_0301One of my favorite passages – is John 14:15 – where Jesus says – If you love me, keep my commands. I repeated that one a lot to my children growing up – paraphrased at times. My father often quoted it to me – or paraphrased it too!

When asked for what he wanted for his birthday or Christmas – my dad would always say to us – children who love me and listen to me. I repeated that to my children as well as they were growing up.  I will probably repeat it to my grandchildren as well.

Apparently obedience is something that God desires of His children as well. Along with honoring our mothers and fathers – we are called to listen to what God has to say – to obey Him and listen to His commands and instructions.

Lets take a look at today’s passage in partial context. Matthew 7:21–29 – 21 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22 Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’ 24 “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25 The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. 26 But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. 27 The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.” 28 When Jesus had finished saying these things, the crowds were amazed at his teaching, 29 because he taught as one who had authority, and not as their teachers of the law.

We are called to listen to God and God’s Word. Becoming students of the Bible is one of the best ways to become knowledgeable of what God’s desire is for His people. Building our faith upon obedience to God’s Word is sound for sure. Let’s stop the foolishness and start being wise – and obey God’s commands – His will for our lives. We should be searching for Gethsemane moments daily – where we can deny our will and take up God’s will.  We need to listen to God and do as God commands/instructs!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 9, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

