Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Love Our God – Show Our Love

Deuteronomy 6:5

And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your strength.

IMG_0301I created a song for my grandchildren. I sing it with them whenever they’re here or on Face-Time. It goes like this – I love Pop, Pop loves me, and that’s the way it’s going to be! If I have written it before (and I know I have) – I just love being a Pop. I love my grandchildren – three already here and one on the way soon!  I love showing them how much I love them but giving them my focus when they are around.  I didn’t always do that with my children.  I want to be a better Pop than I was a Dad.

In Christ we are called to love others – even as we love ourselves. Jesus was asked what the greatest commandments were and part of His response is to love our neighbors – those around us – even as we love ourselves. Matthew 22:39 – And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

But the greatest commandment – as recorded in today’s passage – is to love God – with our all. Deuteronomy 6:5 – And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your strength. It is found in Matthew 22:37-38 – 37 Jesus replied: “ ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’  38 This is the first and greatest commandment.

How much do we love God? Do we love God with our all? Do we love God more than we love ourselves? Do we love God more than any other? How do we show our love to God? Do we say we love God – but fail to follow through with our actions?  Jesus said – John 14:15 – If you love me, keep my commands. How well are we keeping the commandments of God? How do we think our obedience to God is revealing our love for God?  Are we walking the talk?

My prayer today is that we will strive to love God with our all and that we will strive to show that love by being obedient to His commands. Saying we love God and not following through with obedience might be empty words. What do you think?  Let’s show God our love by our obedience to His Word – His Commandments.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 15, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

