Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

If God Is On Our Side

Psalm 27:3

Though a mighty army surrounds me, my heart will not be afraid. Even if I am attacked, I will remain confident.

IMG_0301I like to play basketball. I play with some young men on M-W-F mornings around 6:30 am. They allow the old man to play – they are so nice! If it weren’t for my occasional three-pointer – I think they might not let me play. As I continue to get in better shape – I am playing better defense and actually driving the lane once in awhile.

An old friend of mine is one of the better players. I enjoy having him on the same team. When he is on my team and playing inside – I feel more confident shooting my three-ball – because I know he will get his share of my misses and turn them into baskets or pass it back outside for another three-ball by someone.

I like to play golf – and I enjoy playing tournament ball. I usually like to form teams where I am the worst player (I normally shoot in the mid to low 80’s). If I have better players playing with me – I gain confidence and at times can play over my head! We’ve won a few tournaments over the years.

Today the Psalmist is talking about having God on his side. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 27:1–5 – The Lord is my light and my salvation— whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life— of whom shall I be afraid? When the wicked advance against me to devour me, it is my enemies and my foes who will stumble and fall. Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then I will be confident. 4 One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple. For in the day of trouble he will keep me safe in his dwelling; he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent and set me high upon a rock.

We should strive to be on God’s side for sure! Paul wrote – after talking about our present lives and suffering – and the future glory that is ours in Christ – Romans 8:31 – What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

Being on God’s side – or having God on our side (when we walk in His will) – should give us much confidence – even as we face the unknown future. No matter what comes our way – if God is there – we will – in the end – see His face! We will win in the end – even if – at times – it seems like we don’t win here and now! We will see Jesus!  Being confident – even when the odds are against us – even when it seems like we are being defeated.  With God on our side – we will have victory!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 20, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

