Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Do We Love Hunting?

Luke 19:10

For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.

IMG_0301I love hunting for things – like lost golf balls. I find them in places other than golf courses (like I have found a few along the side of the road when I am walking) – but mainly I find them where others don’t look (either because they don’t care or would rather buy new ones rather than go into the woods or water looking for their bad shots).

I love hunting for things – like hidden items in pictures (I remember as a child looking in the Highlights Magazine).  Finding hidden items in the picture was fun – as long as someone hadn’t come along before me and circled the items!  I also liked finding what was different between two fairly identical pictures.  My mind loves to figure out what doesn’t belong in a picture!

I love hunting for things – like good deals. I like searching for the lowest gasoline price in our area. I enjoy getting discounts on things – like buy one and get one or two free! I usually buy one and get one free with my suits for example.

I could go on and on – because I love hunting things! Do you enjoy hunting things?

In today’s passage – Jesus is the one hunting or seeking something. Jesus came to seek and to save the lost – For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost. Luke 19:10 And since we are the Body of Christ – or said another way – since we are the hands and feet of Christ – since He died for us and bought us through His shed blood – we are to seek the lost as well.

The Great Commission – given by Christ to His followers – His disciples – is as follows – Matthew 28:16-20 – 16 Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. 18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

So – the church – the Body of Christ – should have as its main purpose – hunting/seeking the lost and sharing with them the saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. The church should be evangelical in nature! So here is a couple of tough question for us. Do we personally hunt or seek out the lost to share with them Jesus? Does our church hunt or seek out the lost to share with them Jesus?

If you wonder why the United Methodist Church is declining in America (not everywhere in America but overall) and why it is growing in places like Africa – I would suggest that in Africa they haven’t lost the calling – the marching orders of Christ – to hunt/seek out the lost and present them the saving knowledge of Jesus Christ and develop followers or disciples.  Too many – IMHO – in America have a hard time with the Biblical concept of the saved and the lost – and so seeking the lost to share with them Jesus is a foreign concept to them.  At least that is one theory!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 22, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

