Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God Will Not Forget Us (Baltimore)

Isaiah 44:21

Pay attention, O Jacob, for you are my servant, O Israel. I, the Lord, made you, and I will not forget you.

IMG_0301I am a child of a parent who is battling with full-blown dementia. At times she seems to know me. At times she has no clue. I have been called every name in the family and outside the family – at times she hits on my name. At times she thinks I am her husband. At times I am her father. At times I am a stranger. Rarely am I her son. At times my mother’s behavior is far from the women I have known all my life. It is frustrating and painful and brings tears to my eyes and breaks my heart.

Believe me it is very painful watching someone who has always been strong – decay right before your eyes. My sister and brother-in-law have taken the brunt of mom’s care – and I know it is taking a toll on their quality of life for sure. My brother and I help some – but it is very hard! My nieces help some as well.

Losing dad 2½ years ago was rough – one of the hardest things I have faced in my life – but losing mom – even though she is still here – is tougher – IMHO. My heart goes out to anyone who is dealing with a parent or parents or anyone battling memory issues like dementia – Alzheimer’s – or other such diseases.

The issue of memory has been on my heart – even as my heart breaks for what is going on in Baltimore – because the city will not soon forget the massive destruction that some are bringing to the city this week. Areas that will take a long time to recover – even after taking a long time to recover from previous periods of devastation.

As I was searching the scriptures – thank God for Biblical search methods – I came across today’s passage. Isaiah 44:21 – Pay attention, O Jacob, for you are my servant, O Israel. I, the Lord, made you, and I will not forget you.  The people of God were being reminded that they are the chosen – that God would redeem them – that God would never forget them.

The promise here and throughout the Bible is that God will not forget us – God will not forget His people! Even when our world all around us – is being destroyed.  God will not forget the faithful. Sisters and brothers from Baltimore – pastors and colleagues – God will not forget you. God knows you – God knows your heart – God knows your desire for His people – the people you serve.

It may seem like God is far off – but God is near. God remembers us and will heal our wounds as we lift Him high! God will not forget us (Baltimore). God will remember and will bless!

I urge pastors everywhere – especially in Maryland – to play this song by Chris Tomlin – or by another artist – God of this City – and remember that God is the God of Baltimore and of each of our cities.  God is not finished with us yet.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 28, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Thank you Rev. Ray for this message and reminder that God will not and has not forgotten His children amidst all the destruction in this world! So thankful that I can rest assured in God’s promise that He will never leave nor forsake me! God’s people will prevail no manner what!!

    Like

    Comment by Lorretta Freeman | April 28, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

