Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Setting Our Minds on Eternal Things

Colossians 3:2

Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.

IMG_0301With the unrest in Baltimore this week – we are reminded that things are not always as we plan them to be.  Things don’t go the way we dream them to go – often sudden changes in our environment brings about radical changes in our day-to-day living.  This week I wrote about us being bought and paid for by Christ on the Cross of Calvary.  In that post we talked about being a living sacrifice for Jesus – living for Him with our lives. We should learn much about our quarreling and getting involved in foolish and stupid conversations – whether arguments over theology or worldly things.

Today we will take a look at setting our minds on the things of God rather than the things of the world.  One morning this past week I woke and was stressing over several earthly things – like we might all do from time to time.  I was stressing over our bills – over our income – over my work – over my wife’s work – over family things – over personal things – over the unrest in Baltimore and around the nation – and the list could continue.  I awoke early and couldn’t go back to sleep because of the troubles of the world – earthly things – that had my mind all wrapped up and captured.

I did my morning devotions and kept digging into the Word throughout the day and this passage came to mind.  Colossians 3:2 – Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.

As I prayed on this verse – one of my favorite passages came to mind – I imagine some of you who know me have already figured out which one I am referring to for sure!  Romans 12:2 – Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is — his good, pleasing and perfect will.

That morning my mind certainly needed to be renewed.  I needed to refocus on the eternal – on the things that ultimately matter more than others.  I had allowed the earthly things to capture my mind.  Have you ever been there?  As I continued to dig into the word these few verses came to mind – 1 John 2:15-17 – 15 Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 16 For everything in the world — the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does — comes not from the Father but from the world. 17 The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.

If – like me – you can be overwhelmed at times by the things of the world – of the things happening near us in Baltimore – I hope these and other Scriptures help to snap you/us out of it!  They helped me – and after reading and re-reading them and spending some time in prayer – my countenance and spirit were lifted!  Even this morning as I head out to counsel with a single parent – as I celebrate the life of a person from the community – as I plan for a congregational meeting tonight – I will strive to keep my eyes on eternal things rather than on the temporal things of life.  I will strive to focus my priorities on Jesus and those things that will draw us toward Him!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 30, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

