Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Forgive Us – As We Forgive Others

Matthew 6:12

and forgive us our sins, as we have forgiven those who sin against us. NLT

IMG_0301If you’re anything like me – sometimes the Bible says things that cause me to pause.  Stuff like loving my enemies or turning the other cheek or if you deny me before men I will deny you before My Father in heaven or today’s passage and forgive us our sins, as we have forgiven those who sin against us.  In many translations the word debt is used or in the common Lord’s Prayer used by many – forgive us our trespasses.  Many of us do not understand the meaning as clearly as using the word sin.  We are actually asking God to forgive us our sins/debts/trespasses in the same manner in which we forgive others their sin/debt/trespasses against us.  This is amazing to me.  In the manner that I am gracious – in the way that I forgive – Lord – forgive me.

This seems so amazing to me because many of us – myself included – are not always that gracious.  We hold grudges – we are vengeful – we are resentful – we have a hard time forgiving the past.  Today I simply challenge us to search our hearts and find the areas where unforgiveness lives in us.  I challenge us to be a more grace filled person – a person who is ever ready for new beginnings.

Here is the heart of God and His forgiveness.  Romans 5:6-8 – 6 You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. 7 Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. 8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.  We are to strive to have the heart of God we are told!  To have His attitude!

Here is the heart of Paul and the heart we should have as well.  1 Timothy 1:15-17 – 15 Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners — of whom I am the worst. 16 But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life. 17 Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory forever and ever. Amen.

Seek His face and desire His grace!  Forgive as God forgives.  This is not easy – for you or for me or for anyone.  But today – that is the challenge – to forgive others as we wish to be forgiven by God.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

May 14, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

