Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Holy Spirit – With Power!

Luke 1:35

The angel answered, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the holy one to be born will be called the Son of God.”

IMG_0301I remember – years and years ago – when I was in elementary school – passing notes in class.  You know the type I’m talking about don’t you?  The girls would make up these little books with questions in them like – do you like so-in-so?  One of the questions on a booklet passed around said – do you watch Dark Shadows?  Now Dark Shadows was a show that came on right after school – a soap opera of sorts.  It was about a vampire and other creepy things.  I didn’t watch it – or even know about it.  At least I hadn’t watched it before being asked the question.  I didn’t even know about it.  So I thought they were talking about dark shadows – you know – at night.  Everyone else said yes before me – so of course – succumbing to peer pressure I said yes as well.  It was only later – when I was asked specific questions about watching Dark Shadows – I found out it was a TV show – and of course I started watching it (to keep up with my peers).

That memory came back to me as I read today’s passage.  Of course today’s passage is about Mary – the mother of Jesus – but it talked about the Most High overshadowing Mary – and so I thought of that early school experience.   Of course – one was an evil overshadowing – and this passage is telling Mary that the power of the Most High will overshadow her.

hsdoveHave you ever felt like the Holy Spirit was upon you?  I mean – like I preached yesterday – have you ever felt the power of the Holy Spirit?  Have you ever felt that the Holy Spirit was so heavy upon you that you felt overshadowed – like the Spirit was all over you?  It is an awesome feeling – a feeling I wish every Christian would experience.  Being so overshadowed by the Holy Spirit that you felt soaked in the Spirit – drenched in His presence.

We’re told to seek after the Holy Spirit – to seek and yearn for His presence.  We’re told that the Father will send the Holy Spirit to remind us of the teachings of Jesus and to teach us all thing.  I want to urge believers to do just that – seek after the Holy Spirit.  When you pray – when you read the Bible – when you worship – don’t be in such a hurry – don’t come with an agenda – allow time for the Holy Spirit to speak to your spirit.  Be still and listen!  As I challenged us to do at the end of worship yesterday – pray – Come Holy Spirit – Come!

Psalm 27:14 – Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.

Let me know what happens – when you wait on the Lord – wait on and call for the Holy Spirit?  I would love to post some testimonies of what God did in you – through you – and in spite of you – when you waited and allowed the Holy Spirit to overshadow you!  I pray that the Holy Spirit will come upon all of us with power.  The church needs power filled – Spirit filled – Christians today!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

June 1, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

