Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

To Not Lack Anything!

James 1:4

Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

IMG_0301I’m sitting here – in my home office – trying to find my focus! I’m praying and reading the Bible – I’m listening to some Gospel music – feeding my spirit (after a breakfast of lean hamburger and water to feed the body).

As I was reading I opened to a favorite book – the Book of James – Christ’s brother’s book. I came across that famous passage at the beginning of that book.

James 1:2-4 – 2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4 Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

That is what I’m after – what I seek after – to not lack anything. I want all that God has for me – all that He has planned for me.  I want to avail myself to God so that God may do all that God plans to do in me – through me – and in spite of me. I do not want to resist God in anyway.  I do not want to put up a barrier of any kind to what God wants to give me.

In order to lack nothing – I must persevere. It is through the testing of my faith that perseverance comes – so I celebrate the trials that come my way today – knowing that as God carries me through them – I will be that much closer to perseverance which leads to lacking nothing!

Are you having a rough day? Are you having a hard time staying on task? Are you facing a loss of work or a deadline that seems hard to meet? Are you facing a troublesome marriage or relationship?  Are there issues with your parent(s) or children/child? Are you dealing with health issues? Are you facing the death of a loved one? Does life seem unfair to you at the moment? If these or anything like these – know that God can carry you through this time and as you arrive on the other side – you will be that much closer to lacking nothing! Celebrate what God is doing and going to do in you – even if it is a tough place to be right now.  God may not be bringing the issues but God is with you through the issues you face.

James 1:2-4 – 2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4 Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

God – keep me focused on Your plan – Your will for me today.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

June 8, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

