Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Be An Imitator of God

Ephesians 5:1-2

Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

IMG_0301As I type this devotional – I have decided that today is a challenge for me.  If our readers wish to read along and even join me – you all are more than welcome to do so. My personal challenge over the next few weeks – will be to become a better imitator of God.

I was listening to 105.7 the Fan recently and they have been talking about the volunteer practices (OTA’s) the Ravens have been holding.  They remarked at the number of veterans who have been in attendance – including Joe Flacco and Steve Smith.  These players are setting a good example – as well as getting attuned to a new offensive coordinator.  As a team – they are striving to be the best that they can be – with the playoffs and Super Bowl in their minds.

As I listed to this report and spent some time in prayer – I asked myself this question – what could I do – more – that would reflect God more in my life?  How could I be a better witness – a better example – a better pastor – a better imitator of God? Have you ever asked yourself that question dear readers? I mean – I try to walk close to Christ – I strive to build my relationship with Jesus. But the question remained in my mind and sank into my heart. It wouldn’t go away. It remained with me as I went through my day.

Carolyn and I have been talking about this season of our life. The children all have their education – they have their own homes – they are starting their families and developing their careers. So what is next for us? We talked about taking trips – using more of our income to help others – spoiling our grandchildren – beginning to think about retirement – how to save more for the future – and to help others.

So over the next few weeks – I will strive to put everything else out of my mind – and concentrate on how I can be a better imitator of Christ. I will strive to think of others and serving the Lord without regard to me or my comfort. Who will join me? Join me or not – I am on this journey – may God be glorified! That is my hope and prayer! God bless each and everyone who reads this post!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

June 11, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

