Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Confession – Repentance – and Forgiveness

Psalm 32:5

Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord.” And you forgave the guilt of my sin.

IMG_0301Not too long ago – actually last week – I wrote a blog post about forgiveness. I love the topic so much I thought I would write about it again this week. There is something about God’s grace – God’s forgiveness – that comes to mind – and makes me feel great. The upcoming Revival will focus on God’s Grace.

Last Sunday we preached on forgiveness in marriage (check out the sermon notes in the link provided). Every successful marriage requires forgiveness – because there are no perfect marriages – no perfect spouses. We WILL make mistakes. We WILL mess up! We need forgiveness and we need to forgive.

The Bible uses marriage – between a husband and wife – as an example of our marriage with Christ (we are the bride of Christ). Here is one passage where Paul writes about the church – believers – being promised to Christ as His bride. 2 Corinthians 11:1–4 – 1 I hope you will put up with me in a little foolishness. Yes, please put up with me! 2 I am jealous for you with a godly jealousy. I promised you to one husband, to Christ, so that I might present you as a pure virgin to him. 3 But I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpent’s cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ. For if someone comes to you and preaches a Jesus other than the Jesus we preached, or if you receive a different spirit from the Spirit you received, or a different gospel from the one you accepted, you put up with it easily enough.

Acknowledging our sin – confessing them – to God – is essential. Sunday at the 11 am service a week ago – we had 6 people come up and confess – repent – and receive Christ as their Lord and Savior. At the closing of Vacation Bible School on Thursday night – we had nearly 30 youth receive Jesus as their Lord and Savior. This transformation is amazing.

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 32:1–5 – Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered. Blessed is the one whose sin the Lord does not count against them and in whose spirit is no deceit. When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long. For day and night your hand was heavy on me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer. 5 Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord.” And you forgave the guilt of my sin.

Have we confessed our sins to God lately? Confession is good for the soul – in a number of ways. We are blessed when our sins are forgiven – when God doesn’t hold them against us. Confess to God today and see how blessed you will become!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

July 23, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Marriage, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

