Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Abortion – Is As Evil As The Holocaust – If Not More Evil

Psalm 139:14

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

IMG_0301I pulled up an old post – with all of the discussion of late on Planned Parenthood and how they sell of body parts of aborted children for a buck.  With the outcry for the killing of a beloved Cecil the lion in Africa – I thought we should be made aware once more of the horror of abortion – which I believe to be as bad as if not worst than the horror of the Holocaust (IMHO).

January 1973 – I was 17 – soon to be 18 – and a graduate of Annapolis High School.  I was preparing to enter AACC for the summer semester to get a head start on college.  I would raise my baseball officiating career to the college level by umpiring division one games at Navy that spring and be invited by Navy’s coach to go to Florida to umpiring school to become a professional umpire.  I had a steady girl and life was good – for me.  But January 22nd – 1973 – is an infamous date in the history of our country.  42 years ago (and saying that reminds me that I have been out of High School for 42 years) the courts passed Roe v. Wade – which legalized killing babies in their mother’s womb.

I understand that this is a hot button topic.  It is shameful that in our society – even today – women need laws to protect them from the evil that others wish to do to them.  It is also a shame that innocent babies are being killed for any reason other than the physical loss of life by the mother.  I’ve written about abortion on several occasions – one article was titled – An Article about Abortion written in 2009 – another was titled simply – Abortion written in 2008 – still another was titled – Does It Take Controversy written in 2012. In 2011 I mentioned abortion in an article about the upcoming resolutions before General Conference that year.  In 2011 I wrote another article titled – When Will Our Nation Awaken to Such a Great Sin?  In 2010 I wrote about abortion and used the example of a dear child that doctors said should be aborted and about a woman who was aborted but lived.  In 2010 I also shared The Manhattan Declaration In Total.

If January 22nd just passes each year and no one reminds us of the deaths that occur each year because of abortion – will this holocaust continue without even a tear being shed?  I do not use the word holocaust lightly.  Here are some words from one of my previous articles.  Read the numbers and you decide whether this measures up to a holocaust.  I know that illegal abortions are also horrific – but so is killing innocent children!  Please continue to read and pray that our courts and our nation will awaken to the evil we are committing through abortion.

50 millionI’m not sure we even grasp the size of our sin as a nation?  One group estimates that by 2009 – nearly 50 million babies had been aborted since 1973 (6 years ago).  Current statistics set the number at over 52,000,000 (back a few years).  This is not right my friends.  The Mississippi Baptist Convention tried to find a way to drive this number home and created a visual reminder of the 50 million babies aborted by 2009.  The picture included to the right is of a Memorial to the Missing – being filled with 50 million pennies.  It brings tears to my eyes to think of this great sin hanging over the nation – and with many churches in support.

Another way of thinking about such a large number of aborted babies is to add up all the people in the following states: Kentucky, Oregon, Oklahoma, Connecticut, Iowa, Mississippi, Arkansas, Kansas, Utah, Nevada, New Mexico, West Virginia, Nebraska, Idaho, Maine, New Hampshire, Hawaii, Rhode Island, Montana, Delaware, South Dakota, Alaska, North Dakota, Vermont, & Wyoming.  The populations of these 25 states equals about 50 million (when this article was first published).  We have allowed the total population of 25 states to be killed – lawfully – in our nation – since 1973.  Do we understand what we are doing?

Here are some other numbers to think about.  I know these items have little to do with abortion – yet we often think of them as tragedies – and they are – yet many in our government and in our society do not see the tragic killing of so many babies as tragic. Number of American battle deaths in all U.S. wars since 1776: 658,000. Number of Americans of all ages who start smoking every day – 3,000. Percentage of smokers who will die prematurely 50-70 years later: 30%. Percentage of babies killed by abortion this year: 23.1%.

Here is a something I found on Facebook that speaks volumes too – click here or watch below.  It says what I am trying to say.

Abortion is a Holocaust

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

August 3, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

