Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Revival Is Coming Sunday!

Psalm 100:2

Worship the Lord with gladness; come before him with joyful songs.

IMG_0301On Sunday we start our 1st Annual Summer Revival.  We have held two revivals in the winter called our Pre-Lenten Revival.  You can read some details about the Summer Revival here and here.   We begin with the morning services on Sunday (August 16) and also hold services each evening Sunday through Wednesday.  We finish the Revival on Sunday – August 23rd – at a joint service held in the Sanctuary at 11 am.

My DadWhenever I think about holding a revival – I think of my dad.  Almost three years ago we celebrated his life at a worship services held at the church I was serving at the time.  One thing my dad enjoyed doing more than most other things was worship God – and he did it with much gladness.  I can remember the Sunday morning, Sunday night, Wednesday night and revival services he used to lead.  He loved to worship – being in the presence of God – with gladness and joy in his heart.  He would visit other churches – often – just to experience their worship to see if there was a way to improve the worship at the church he served.

One passage he loved was Psalms 100:1-5 – 1 Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth. 2 Worship the Lord with gladness; come before him with joyful songs. 3 Know that the Lord is God. It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture. 4 Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. 5 For the Lord is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.

Most who know me – know me to be very emotional.  I’m writing this on Friday afternoon – a little late – but as I write it – I have tears in my eyes thinking of my dad.  The tears flow for me almost three years later.  My pain – my loss – bring me good and bad memories.  Never have I cried for my dad – because he is in the presence of God enjoying some awesome worship.  I can just imagine my dad singing with his strong voice – a voice we hadn’t heard for a number of years because of his illness – but a voice I have engraved in my memory from years of watching him enjoy worshiping his Lord and Savior – his God – for decades – a lifetime.

Join us Sunday at 8:15 am – 11 am – and 7 pm for revival as we a worship our God and bring glory and honor to God our Father!  I pray that the revival brings folks together as we seek His face and desire His grace.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

August 14, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

