Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Glory of God

Psalm 19:1

The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.

IMG_0301OK – revival is almost over for the summer of 2015. We have one last service – Sunday at 11 am (one service – combined worship). I hope you can attend. It should be an exciting time of worship and celebration of an excellent week of revival.

Revival this summer has been a great blessing to me. I hope it was to those who attended as well. Our next revival will be February 7-10 in 2016 – our third annual Pre-Lenten Revival. I’m working on a guest speaker that will bring God’s word to us.

Revival is all about an intense time of hearing God’s word through music – testimony – prayers – and the reading and proclaiming of God’s word. We hope that those who attended felt closer to God as the services come to an end this summer.

Today’s passage says – The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Not only do the heavens declare the glory of God – but we did as well this week during revival. Some of the prayer concerns – lifting our hearts to God – some of the praises and testimonies – and some of the times at the cross – really lifted my spirit and helped to bring me into God’s presence. Each team had a uniqueness about them and each helped to bring us into the presence of God.

FUMCLNightI posted this on Facebook but wanted to give it a larger audience. I want to thank some folks for their contribution to the evening summer revival services. I know I won’t remember everyone, and for that I apologize up front, but I can’t let that fear keep me from sharing a thank you for those who I can remember (remind me who I missed – I can edit my post).

Thanks to Shaun​ and our praise team for the excellent job of working with each team that came to lead worship with us this week. Thanks to Jeremy​, Jake​, Trevor​, Brandon, Adam​, Lauren​, Stephanie, Leah​, Becky​, Aaron​, Mark​, and others who helped.

Thanks to Ingrid​ & Bill and their home group for organizing the dinners each evening. Thanks to those who helped provide the meals Monday thru Wednesday.

Thanks to Dave & Ann Marie and their teams for helping to plan and pull off the revival.

Thanks to Dave​ and Cherilyn​ for making sure we had ushers each evening and greeters as well.

Thanks to those who attended, some came out every evening. We had good attendance and I hope that some will give testimony in the weeks to come about how God moved amongst us at revival!

Thanks to Shari​ for preparing the bulletins and doing some of the behind the scenes stuff!

Thanks to the worship teams from Oakdale Clarksburg​, Judah Temple AME Zion Church​, and Nichols-Bethel UMC​, for leading worship. Again, thanks to our team from First United Methodist Church of Laurel​ for helping all week and leading worship Wednesday night.

Thanks to Chris Ditch​ and A Sign & Graphics, Inc.​ for the revival sign. Thanks also to Ann Marie and Roland for the tall red revival sign.

Thanks to Trevor and Stephanie and all of those who came around me to pray on Tuesday night as I was processing my mother’s illness, that was one of the most powerful moments for me.

Thanks to all who helped make this week special! I’m thankful to some clergy friends that attended as well, namely Donald, Scot, David, and Carletta.

Don’t forget, we will only have one worship service this Sunday at 11 am in the Sanctuary as we close out revival week! A cookout will follow and an ice cream social as well! See you there!

My prayer is that all of what we did to help make revival week special – was service unto God and unto His glory!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

August 20, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

