Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

A Lamp Unto My Path!

Psalm 119:105

Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.

82015 RayRecently I was called upon to fix my outside lights. No big deal for most people – but I am not mechanically inclined like many people. For instance – my wife once celebrated when I was able to put up a ceiling fan – all by myself! LOL

The outside lights that shine on our driveway and parking at our home did not work. First I checked the fuse box to see if a fuse had tripped. Next I checked the bulbs – three of them – they were good (I didn’t think all three had gone bad at the same time but I checked anyway). I checked the switch to make sure it was working. I narrowed down the trouble to a nearly 20-year-old motion sensor I had installed up my driveway.

I took a picture of the motion detector and went off to my friendly neighborhood Home Depot. At first I couldn’t find the motion detectors. I searched and searched – not wanting to be one of those guys who didn’t know his way around a hardware store (even though I am one of those guys). I finally found them – pulled out my trusty picture on my cell phone and found a close match (they’ve changed some things in 20 years).

I took it home and hoped that it would install itself – but it didn’t – so I figured out the tools I would need (yes Tim – I did use tools). I waited until dusk to make sure I could get it to work and headed up the driveway – flashlight and tools in hand!

The new motion detector had one more wire than my old one so I called my brother to make sure I didn’t need to install something for that wire. As I thought – it was a ground wire – but was more for use on the side of a home rather than for my application. I hooked up the wires and put the box back together – and surprise-surprise – the lights worked. They even came on that night when someone drove down the driveway.

Now when I take the trash up on Sunday nights – the lights come on to light up my path. When someone walks down our driveway or drives down our driveway – the lights shine on the path! Even in the middle of the night – when deer cross our driveway or yard – the lights come on.

Today’s passage speaks about God’s Word – the Bible – being the light that shines on our lives – the path we walk – the driveway of our soul. I’ve often heard that EVERYTHING we will ever deal with in life – the Bible speaks to it – maybe not using the same terms – but in essence. There is really nothing new under the sun.

God’s Word – is a lamp unto our feet – unto the path of our life. Today’s passage reads – Psalm 119:105 – Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path. We should cultivate our understanding of God’s Word – more and more each day! Last night was the 3rd week of the Men’s study on John’s Gospel and I came away with an excited heart again. I pray that each of us will take the time to build our knowledge and understanding of Christ.

Take the time to process what is needed in your life to allow the Word of God to shine on the path of your life.  Read it – yes – like reading a instructions to install a motion detector (and yes – I did read the instructions).  Follow the Word of God’s daily instructions for our lives and God’s light will shine on the path of our days!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 16, 2015 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Hi Ray, I am really enjoying your practical application of the Word of God. Thank you and keep up the great works!

    Like

    Comment by The Negotiator | September 16, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you. The application of the Word of God makes it real to us and not simply a study of history or something abstract. When we can actually see real life application to the Word of God it becomes personal. Thanks again for reading the blog and leaving a comment.

      Like

      Comment by raymcdonald | September 16, 2015 | Reply

  2. way to go Rev. Ray,I bet your wife was proud of you.You know Sir you get so excited about your tues teaching of THE BOOK OF JOHN,MAYBE SOMEDAY THE LADIES WILL HAVE A CLASS GOD BLESS BOBBI

    Date: Wed, 16 Sep 2015 13:05:24 +0000 To: dustinbobbi@hotmail.com

    Like

    Comment by bobbi dustin | September 16, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

