Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Why Have You Forsaken Me?

Matthew 27:46

“My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

82015 RayHave we ever felt abandoned? Have we ever felt alone – even in a room filled with people? Have we ever felt forsaken? Has life ever given us a raw deal – as we see it – and have we felt like the weight of the world was upon us?  Have we ever felt desperate?

I remember going through some tough times – in my life – and feeling like I was all alone – like no one understood what I was dealing with – and no one was coming to my aid (it seemed). There were times I felt like I was doing all the right things – and I was still facing tough times. Have you ever been there?  Satan likes to pile up on folks trying to follow after Jesus – just saying!

I was reading yesterday about Christian families in Iraq and other places around the world who were fleeing ISIS and other radical Muslim groups. Some are not fleeing – some are staying and facing great persecution – even death – as they remain in their homes. The article said the UN had abandoned them and their country’s government was not offering any protection. They must feel forsaken – abandoned – alone. Are we praying for them?  This scene is becoming more common these days.

Years ago I was ministering to someone who expressed that they felt all alone in the world. They had family – they had friends – they were married – yet they felt alone – they felt there was nothing worth living for anymore.  They talked about taking their life.

I love the fact that we have a Savior who has been there – in many cases – and done that – for us and before us! Today’s passage is a quote from Psalm 22 – here is a portion of that Psalm. Psalm 22:1–11 – My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, so far from my cries of anguish? 2 My God, I cry out by day, but you do not answer, by night, but I find no rest. 3 Yet you are enthroned as the Holy One; you are the one Israel praises.  4 In you our ancestors put their trust; they trusted and you delivered them. 5 To you they cried out and were saved; in you they trusted and were not put to shame. 6 But I am a worm and not a man, scorned by everyone, despised by the people. All who see me mock me; they hurl insults, shaking their heads. 8 “He trusts in the Lord,” they say, “let the Lord rescue him. Let him deliver him, since he delights in him.” 9 Yet you brought me out of the womb; you made me trust in you, even at my mother’s breast. 10 From birth I was cast on you; from my mother’s womb you have been my God. 11 Do not be far from me, for trouble is near and there is no one to help.

These and other words from Psalm 22 – describe what Jesus was experiencing on the Cross of Calvary – for you and for me. Jesus understands feeling alone – feeling rejected – feeling forsaken. At the end of this Psalm – we read these words. Psalm 22:22–31 – 22 I will declare your name to my people; in the assembly I will praise you. 23 You who fear the Lord, praise him! All you descendants of Jacob, honor him! Revere him, all you descendants of Israel! 24 For he has not despised or scorned the suffering of the afflicted one; he has not hidden his face from him but has listened to his cry for help. 25 From you comes the theme of my praise in the great assembly; before those who fear you I will fulfill my vows. 26 The poor will eat and be satisfied; those who seek the Lord will praise him— may your hearts live forever! 27 All the ends of the earth will remember and turn to the Lord, and all the families of the nations will bow down before him, 28 for dominion belongs to the Lord and he rules over the nations. 29 All the rich of the earth will feast and worship; all who go down to the dust will kneel before him— those who cannot keep themselves alive. 30 Posterity will serve him; future generations will be told about the Lord. 31 They will proclaim his righteousness, declaring to a people yet unborn: He has done it!

If we feel alone – forsaken – abandoned today – we need to turn to Jesus – the One who has been there and back and placed His trust in God. Let us turn our hearts to Jesus!  If we know of people who feel alone – forsaken – abandoned – we need to reach out to them and let them know that we love them in Christ and that Christ loves them.  We are to reach out – to be sent – to serve Christ in this way!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 17, 2015 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Send, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

