Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Our Thoughts and God’s Thoughts

Isaiah 55:8

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord.

82015 RayI have been married to my wife for 35 plus years. It has mostly been 35 plus good years. We often see eye to eye. At times we don’t – and we deal with it. We have grown to know each other – often able to finish each other’s thoughts (which can be annoying at times – lol).

One thing we have found out – and it didn’t take 35 plus years – we found out we are quite different in some ways. I like the fan on in the room to move the air around – she would rather not have it on. I like to watch national news – she likes to watch local news. She can sit by herself for hours and read or be in her thoughts – I like to be doing things – and with people. I could continue…

We have so many things in common. We both love Jesus. We both love our children. We both love sports – and often the same teams (early on she picked her favorite teams according to their uniforms). We both like to be active at times – although I like basketball and golf and she likes biking and running.

At times today’s passage rings true for us. Isaiah 55:8 – “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Isaiah 55:1–9 – 1 “Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters; and you who have no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost. 2 Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy? Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and you will delight in the richest of fare. 3 Give ear and come to me; listen, that you may live. I will make an everlasting covenant with you, my faithful love promised to David. See, I have made him a witness to the peoples, a ruler and commander of the peoples. 5 Surely you will summon nations you know not, and nations you do not know will come running to you, because of the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, for he has endowed you with splendor.” 6 Seek the Lord while he may be found; call on him while he is near. Let the wicked forsake their ways and the unrighteous their thoughts. Let them turn to the Lord, and he will have mercy on them, and to our God, for he will freely pardon. 8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. 9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.

As much as I try to think like my wife – as much as I try to have in common with her – there are just things we differ on. We try to make allowances for our differences. As much as I try to think like Jesus – even try to model my life after His life and His will – there are times when I fail. Some of the times when I fail – it is simply because His ways or His thoughts – are so much different than mine – that I can’t match Him.

My wife offers grace when she sees that I am trying and fail. She actually offers grace when I’m not trying – but confess that to her and apologize. God offers grace when our ways are not His ways – when our thoughts are not His thoughts. God often offers grace when we fail – on purpose even – as long as we sincerely confess and repent – say we are sorry and strive to do better. I love grace – and know that it is only through grace that I can be in relationship with my wife or with Jesus – because I am a sinner – saved by grace.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 21, 2015 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

