Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Shelter of the Most High

Psalm 91:1

Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.

82015 RayI was playing golf recently – and the rains came. I took out my trusty umbrella – and got beneath its protection. I stayed dry because I was under the protection of that umbrella – which was made to do just what it did. It rained hard for a few holes – and when the rain passed – I put the umbrella up – until it was needed again.

When I was a young lad – living with my parents – my parents were my protection from the world around me. They taught me about life – they did what they could to protect me from hurt and from trouble. Most often – when I listened to their advice – I stayed safe and out of trouble.

When we became parents – Carolyn and I found ourselves trying to protect our children from trouble. At times we did a good job – at times we failed. Most times our children listened – there were a few times they did not.

I remember visiting my mother’s childhood home – in Moorefield – WV. It was a rainy day and I was sitting on the screened in porch. They have a tin roof and I could hear the rain hitting the roof. It gently put me to sleep on the couch on the porch. I felt protected from the rain.

Today’s passage speaks about God’s shelter of protection – here it is in partial context. Psalm 91:1-7 – 1 Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. 2 I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” 3 Surely he will save you from the fowler’s snare and from the deadly pestilence. 4 He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart. 5 You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day, 6 nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday. A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you.

Life pours out troubles like rain. Our only lasting protection is our Lord and Savior – Jesus Christ. Relying on the Lord as our shelter in all times of life is amazing! Like a mother hen protects her chicks – God will stretch His wings over us and protect us from the troubles of the day.

The issue remains – when it rains – I must be under the umbrella or under the porch for protection. I must listen to my parents – in order to gain from their knowledge – the protection they offer. In order to be under the protection of our Lord – we need to listen to Him – to remain in Him. We must express our love for Him by obeying His commands. His shelter – His protection – will cover us – if we remain in Him!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 22, 2015 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

