Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Seek God’s Face

Jeremiah 29:13

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

82015 RayDo we spend much time seeking God’s face – seeking to be in God’s presence?  I sure hope so.  The Bible has many passages about seeking the Lord – about being in God’s presence – and about the blessings of doing so.  Here are just a few.

Jeremiah 29:13 – You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Isaiah 55:6 – Seek the Lord while he may be found; call on him while he is near.

Psalms 27:8 – My heart says of you, “Seek his face!”  Your face, Lord, I will seek.

If we spend time before the Lord – seeking His face – do we give God time to open His heart to us – or do we spend most of the time telling God what is on our mind?  Many people who do daily devotions get into such a routine that they take little time to listen for God’s voice.  They lift some prayers – read some of the Bible – and run off to their busy day.  I read on Twitter recently – a leading pastor say – that prayer is a supposed to be conversation and that conversation was a two-way process.  Do we give God time to speak to us?

I would like to encourage us to be still and know that He is God – Psalm 46:10 – from time to time.  God has spoken to men and women in the past and I do not think God has changed His mode of operation.  He may wish to speak with us today – if we give Him the chance.  What do you think?

One mistake we make is thinking that the Biblical characters were somehow super natural themselves.  They were mere men and women who turned their hearts to God and God often spoke to them.  Exodus 33:11b – The Lord would speak to Moses face to face, as a man speaks with his friend.

At times I have heard people talk about feeling unworthy to come into the presence of God – either in private worship or even in corporate worship.  The Scriptures tell us we are unworthy on our own account.  Isaiah 64:6 – All of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags; we all shrivel up like a leaf, and like the wind our sins sweep us away. Unclean as we might be on our own account – God calls us into His presence and promises us He will receive us.

2 Chronicles 7:14 – if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

God is in the business of grace.  God simply seeks our heart – to be turned toward Him – seeking His face – His heart.  If we do this – we can come boldly into His presence – by grace.  Ephesians 3:12 – In him and through faith in him we may approach God with freedom and confidence.

I know that some of our members and friends seek the Lord’s face on a regular basis.  I can see it in their faces at times (remember how differently Moses looked when he had come back from speaking to God?).  I believe that at First Church – if we are to be the church God wants us to be – we must covenant together to seek the face of God – to listen to His voice.  We must regularly take time to seek Him and to listen to His voice.  I do not always take that time as I should – maybe none of us do – but we can do better – we can increase our time before God.

I’m not sure how God deals with you but at times God insists that I take the time to be before Him – no matter what else I might be doing.  Such a time happened last week.  Carolyn and I were headed to bed – but I just couldn’t get settled.  I did fall asleep for a few moments but then I believe God awakened me.  I tried to get back to sleep but God was tugging at my heart.  I know this feeling well – and I knew God wanted me on my knees before Him.  I spent most of the rest of the evening and early morning seeking God’s face.  He shared a number of things with me – some things for me.  I had some fence mending to do.  I also needed to be more intentional about some personal things.  God spoke to my heart – as I sought His heart – His face.

Would you covenant with me to take more intentional time seeking God’s face?

2 Chronicles 15:12 – They entered into a covenant to seek the Lord, the God of their fathers, with all their heart and soul.

I know it blesses me when I take more than the normal time and set aside special time to seek His face.  God will bless our desire to be in His presence.  A portion of 1 Samuel 13:14 reads – the Lord has sought out a man after his own heart. Are we a people who seeks after the heart of God – who seeks God’s face – God’s presence – who seeks after God with our own heart?  I want us to be.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way!

September 24, 2015 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

