Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Wait For The Lord!

Psalm 27:14

Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.

82015 RayOK – a vacation week is upon me. I think I have planned everything – so that I will not have to think about work – all week. My sermon for October 4th is complete and the media is already in the hands of the media team. My daily devotions have already been written and are on the website ready to post everyday at 9 am. I have called or visited those who have been sick or have had surgery. I have another pastor on call – a former pastor of our church – while I’m gone. I have paid all my bills – I have money in the bank – I have everything scheduled and planned out.  I even have someone living in my home while I’m gone – taking care of the house and our dog!

I believe I have prepared for this coming week. I believe I have taken the time to put everything in order. I have a former pastor taking care of emergencies – I have mature pay people and staff looking out for the day-to-day activities – I have a strong young man prepared to cover the message in my absence. The plans have been made! Let the vacation begin!

Along with taking some time to relax – spend time with family and friends – and play a little golf – I plan to seek after God harder than normal! I plan to have long – extended devotional times – where I wait for the Lord and listen for His voice. I plan to rise early some days and walk on the beach – just listening to God. I plan to sit and watch the sunrise – and sunset – and marvel at His glory! I have my Fitbit hooked up and plan to walk all over the place. As today’s passage says – Psalm 27:14 – Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.

Let mer say it here first – I plan to unplug – leave my laptop at home!  I plan to lay low and seek after the Lord!  I plan to relax and have fun.  I plan to – even pledge to – not think about work until – at least – Friday!  (For those who know me well – you can make laugh now or pray hard for me to keep my pledge.)

We don’t have to take vacation to listen to and wait on the Lord! It helps if the noise of the regular day can be quieted some for sure – but we can wait on the Lord – daily. Please try to make time to wait on the Lord on a regular basis. God wants to speak to our hearts – to share His love with us – to join us and enhance our lives. God wishes to encourage us – to touch our lives – to express His joy in our relationship – but – we need to make time for the Lord. I hope that this renewed time with the Lord – on vacation – will lead to more time with the Lord when I return home. What is your plan?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 25, 2015 - Posted by | Build, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

