Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Fruits of the Spirit – Patience

Galatians 5:22-26

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. 24 Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires. 25 Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. 26 Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.

82015 RayToday is Friday.  I hope most of us will have Saturday off – a time for home chores and maybe some relaxation.  As we continue through the days ahead – examining the Fruits of the Spirit as found in Galatians 5 – today we will deal with the fourth fruit listed – patience.

I should skip this one – because patience is not one of my few virtues.  I am a typical tech junkie.  I like things fast and quick.  If I have to wait for something to load on my computer – for example – it is time to get a new computer.  Having said that – there are times I have had to overcome my natural non-patient self and show patience.  Most of us will struggle with one or more of the fruits.  We are not perfect.  Some fruits in our lives will be immature and all need improvement.

In the King James Version (KJV) of the Bible – the Greek Word translated as patience in the New International Version is translated as longsuffering.  In The Message – we read – we develop a willingness to stick with things.

Colossians 3:12-14 – 12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. 13 Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. 14 And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.

I like the concept of clothing yourself with the fruits of the spirit.  When I get up in the morning – I don’t have the clothes on that I will wear that day – I have to put them on.  If I forget my shirt or worse – my pants – someone will quickly notice and hopefully point it out to me.  When naturally I am missing some of the fruits – or have very immature fruit at best – I should seek after God and ask to be clothed in His righteousness and to mature the missing fruit in my life.  And as Paul says – do this in the love of God that binds us together.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 9, 2015 - Posted by | Build, Church, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

